Track Cycling: Velodrome Racing and Training Area Looking to enter into the realm of track racing? Want to share your experiences and tactics for riding on a velodrome? The Track Cycling forums is for you! Come in and discuss training/racing, equipment, and current track cycling events.

Garmin auto lap feature

Old 11-09-18, 03:57 PM
  #1  
wagge
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Houston
Posts: 11

Bikes: Sworks 2012, Sworks 2016 2000 Corima Cougar

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Garmin auto lap feature

Hey Guys, a friend is using his Garmin 800 to time his track workouts, he sets the auto lap to record 1 lap and multiple laps times. He said you can also set distance like 333 and capture 1 lap times. Has anyone used this feature. I know its not super accurate but might be useful. He said +or - .5 sec.. Is this possible? Would the wahoo work as well? Just throwing it out there.
wagge is offline  
Old 11-09-18, 09:54 PM
  #2  
taras0000
Senior Member
 
taras0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 43.2330941,-79.8022037,17
Posts: 1,655
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
0.5 seconds is quite the range for lap times. It all depends on what they are trying to use it for.

Let's say that your friend is doing 20s laps on a 250m track (45km/h). He could have perfect pace, and have someone timing him at exactly 20s/lap. The garmin may give variances of 19.5(46km/h)-20.5s(44km/h) from one lap to another. That would be a pacing disaster during a pursuit. They would be better off with a cadence readout, and trying to maintain a target cadence to set pace.

As well, if they are trying to track progress or PRs, then again, they could be off a whole half second.
taras0000 is offline  
Old 11-10-18, 09:20 PM
  #3  
colnago62
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a Garmin with that feature. I set to track laps around the track. I donít use it for timing. I use it to look at other data like cadence, average speed, average Watts, things like that.
colnago62 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.