Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

My Trek 950 touring rig.. good build?

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-08, 01:54 PM
limelight

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Been working hard this summer and selling things left and right on craigs list/ebay. Finaly after tons of research and learning all about bike and still so much more to learn my touring rig is coming together...At least the parts are.

I’ve taken a 1995 Trek Single Track Mountain Bike and striped its trashed components and ordered new/used ones from eBay. I have never built a bike before so this is all new and exciting for me! I have an appointment at the bike kitchen by where I work in Hollywood. They have all the tools I need and are going to help me build it. I was wondering if any knows how well these parts work together and what do you think of my ride?
+Shimano XT Rear Deraillure M761 AGA long cage NEW
+Shimano XT M735 31.8mm
+Shimano LX Crankset M583-K 170mm NEW
+Shimano Dura Ace 9 speed bar end shifters NEW
+Dia Compe Road Break Levers (These are cool and vintage!)(problems?!)
+Shimano R500 Cantilever Break set
+Randonneur Handlebar (Sweet Look! https://harriscyclery.net/itemdetails.cfm?id=1347)
+Brooks B17 saddle
+Ortlib front and rear rollers.
+Old man mountain low rider rack
I have a wheel set with Shimano Deore XTR 36 hole hubs, DT swiss double butted spokes and Mavic XT 517 rims.

Left on the list is:
Rear rack, Fenders, Bar tape, A chain, Lights
I used all the research I did on these forum to get this far and I’m getting there!
I hope to have it all together by the end of next week and start a pacific coast tour from Vancouver to my home in Los Angeles.