Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

US-Based Teflon PTFE Powder for Mixing with Paraffin - Runway Stands Alone as of Now

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

US-Based Teflon PTFE Powder for Mixing with Paraffin - Runway Stands Alone as of Now

Old 10-12-20, 08:33 AM
danallen

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts

I am not affiliated or involved in any business related to cycling or anything that can be construed as relevant to this post. I am just a nerdy tech kind of person with some information, some beliefs. If it is right, then it is valuable. If it is wrong, or requires any level of context or correction, that is what this thread is for. I am not trying to prove anything. I am trying to find the truth best for my chain and power train on the bike I love.

I am sure people have all sorts of preferences, but if you are looking for the least friction possible that last for more than a handful of miles, you cannot do better than paraffin plus teflon (ptfe) powder. I am basing this on the years of research reported by Oz Cycling's YouTube videos, combined with what I can discern from https://zerofrictioncycling.com.au/. I have seen discussion of these sources here on BikeForums, but what I have not seen is discussion of Oz's Claim: is it true or false? Another thing I have not seen is a clear statement on where in the United States the right kind of teflon powder is available.

Oz says ten parts paraffin plus one part ptfe powder is the ultimate lube, and makes the case it is the best bar none. TRUE?