Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Need advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-20, 06:35 AM
Junior24

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Need advice

Should’ve probably done this sooner but here it goes.... I’m new to bikes.... bought an old trek alpha1.2 sora road to see if I’d like riding. I road it twice and its falling apart....so I’m looking at buying a new bike no hassles.... I’m looking at a 2020 specialized allez elite e5 has 105 components and rim brakes the other is a 2019 specialized diverge e5 elite has Tiagra components and mechanical disc...... both new 20 dollars difference in price...which one..... would like to eventually do a triathlon sprint and just get into riding..... any advice would be appreciated thank you
Old 04-05-20, 07:03 AM
TiHabanero

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 1741 Post(s)
Liked 1,369 Times in 718 Posts
Two different bikes. The Diverge is a "gravel" or "all road" bike, very similar to the sport touring bikes of the old days. What is old is new again. The Allez is more of a performance bike, and is better suited to racing. Either bike will do anything you want it to.

We all have preferences and my preference is rim brakes as they are simple and effective, and "all road" designs as I prefer stability over quickness. If I were focused on racing, the Allez is the obvious choice between these two bikes.
Old 04-05-20, 07:31 AM
Junior24

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts