Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Mysterious mid 80s Schwinn "Paramount"

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-19, 06:01 PM
acidlung

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

I have a mysterious "semi-Paramount" that I purchased used about 25 years ago (approx. 1996) from the original owner. She had possibly purchased it 8 to 10 years earlier, but I didn’t ask many questions because, I am a bit embarrassed to admit, I was a recent college grad eating a lot of top ramen and just needed a good commuting bike. Original owner had purchased it as a frame/fork and, at some point, built it up with Shimano 600 Ultegra. After its gritty service as a daily commuter for almost 6 years, I cleaned it up, converting it to 9 speed and replacing many components over time. It was such a great ride that it became my top choice at least once or twice a week, seeing probably 40 or 50 miles a week these days. It absolutely sings along over rough pavement but happily jumps to attention when you stand on the pedals for a short hill sprint. As much as I enjoy the bike, I've always wondered about its pedigree. I am not interested in selling as I adore the bike, so I am just looking for any clues as to what this bike is. Here's the details: