Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

1970? Schwinn Paramount Sports Tourer

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-15, 02:59 PM
gjgarcia41

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello all,

I am trying to get my dad's old Schwinn back on the road. It has been sitting in a garage for about 5 years https://drive.google.com/folderview?...EE&usp=sharing

I am a total newbie when it comes to bicycle maintenance. Do you guys think I could just take it to my local Schwinn shop and they can tune it up? Or do you think it needs more work like a restoration? A part of me would like love to re-paint it like new again. Do any of you know of a good bicycle shop in southern California that specializes in vintage restoration?

Also, how can I determine the exact year/make of this bicycle? I would love to find the manual online somewhere. Thank you all for your expertise!
Old 08-20-15, 03:08 PM
otg 

Bikes: I've lost my mind!

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Could you post this full number? Looks like maybe K 4011 something? The bike is a Sports Tourer, not a paramount. A very nice bike!
Old 08-20-15, 03:32 PM
Metacortex

Bikes: Fillet-brazed Schwinns

Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Originally Posted by gjgarcia41
I am trying to get my dad's old Schwinn back on the road. It has been sitting in a garage for about 5 years https://drive.google.com/folderview?...EE&usp=sharing