Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fixed Gear Freestyle
Reload this Page >

Bottom Bracket Problems

Search
Notices
Fixed Gear Freestyle Trickbikes and Freestylers, here's your home! Here, you can discuss the ins and outs of building and riding these bikes.

Bottom Bracket Problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-20, 03:45 AM
MattKahn

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bottom Bracket Problems

So this is my first post on this forum, I'm far from an expert at bike mechanics, I've been around them all my life and know how bolts work or how to change a tire, but when it comes down to the nitty gritty, I'm pretty much useless. So please, go easy on me (or don't, but at least help me out).

So I decided to finally change up some parts (bike has been sitting in the corner with a bent chainring o.O) on my State Contender II. I needed a new crankset so I decided to go with the Miche Primato Advanced Pista cranks. Did some research on fitting BB, and decided to just go with a Miche BB (conflicting reports but seems to come down to proper installation in general). Now here's my question, I contacted state and they told me the dimesions on my current BB are 68 x 103. Here in Belgium, I struggle to find a 103 Miche BB. Now I started wondering if the dimensions are the same, when using a different crankset. I figured a different crankset might extend further out and require a lengthier BB, if that makes any sense.

I'm on a very strict budget I can work with, and I already ordered one wrong part, and this stuff can be overwhelming for a newbie like me. So I apoligize if my question is downright stupid.
Old 04-23-20, 06:08 PM
Brian25

Bikes: Road, mountain and track bikes and tandems.

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked 18 Times in 15 Posts