Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Really Aggravating Creaks

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-18, 08:06 PM
Archwhorides 

Bikes: Death machines all

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 63 Posts

I've been commuting 12 months a year for 3+ years on a belt drive cycle with a hydro-formed aluminum frame. The belt drive train with IGH hub is inherently pretty quiet and when the cycle was new I became addicted to the whisper-quiet experience of this setup. Eventually of course as the gritty Boston miles piled up, little creaks and groans developed here and there, and I beat them down with the usual cleaning, lubricating, and tightening that is required to keep things ship-shape. That was until this spring, when I met Creak-zilla.

It began innocently enough, with a little cre-eak as I pedaled while on the saddle, but it seemed every thing that I did to resolve the issue was answered with a louder creak, until I reached the point that I had to re-read Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance to remain stable. The thin-walled aluminum frame became an amplifier of course, broadcasting my mechanical failures to the world.

Over the period of a month I went through the following steps unsuccessfully:
1. Cleaned and lubricated seat-post and saddle rails
2. Cleaned and partially replaced bottom bracket
3. Replaced/swapped seat-post and saddle
4. Removed, cleaned and reinstalled fenders and rack.
The creaking became louder still.