Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Advice needed: cross bike gearing changes for touring use

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-12, 05:35 AM
robo

Bikes: 1990 Burley Bossa Nova, 1992 Paramount PDG-70, 1993 Specialized Stumpjumper, 2005 Jamis Dakar XC Pro, 2007 Rivendell Bleriot

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 3 Posts

My wife has a cyclocross bike she uses for weekend rides and light touring. It came with fairly standard 'cross gearing of 36/46 in the front and a 10 speed 11-26 cassette in the rear. With 28mm tires and 170mm cranks, this gives a minimum gain ratio of 2.8, and this is proving unridable for any serious hills when the bike is loaded with gear...

I'm new to thinking much about gearing (I've been lucky and have been happy with the stock gearing on my bikes), and was looking for some advice on getting some better gearing on her bike, ideally while replacing a minimum of parts or incurring minimum upgrade cost.

Here are the relevant bits:

Crank: FSA Gossamer double, 110BCD, 170mm arms
Chainrings: FSA N10, 36/46 tooth
Cassette: SRAM PG1070, 11-26 tooth (10 speed)
Derailleurs: SRAM Rival, normal cage rear
Shifters: SRAM Rival brifters

One idea would be to go from a double to a triple, but this seems like an expensive option, requiring a whole new crank and front SRAM Rival brifter (and front derailleur?)

The next idea was to put on a wide ratio cassette, but I realized that this would also require replacing the rear derailleur, as (AFAIK) the SRAM Rival unit she has maxes out at 28 teeth.

Another option might be to get a smaller inner chainring, although I'm not sure how much difference this will make.