Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

Rocker dropouts

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Rocker dropouts

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-20, 01:51 PM
BigPoser

Bikes: BAHL Giro, BAHL Uno, BAHL GVL, Cuevas

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Rocker dropouts

Have a project coming up that will use Rocker drop outs. I've been studying them and as I'm still pretty new to this, I've been trying understand just how to set these up in a fixture. What are used to align the dropouts? There doesn't seem like a way to do it without the inserts but even then the DS is threaded. I'm certainly missing something, but not sure what it is.

Info on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Brandon
Old 02-10-20, 03:24 PM
unterhausen
Randomhead

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 3,696 Times in 2,517 Posts
I don't think there is a way absent the inserts. If you are worried about heat control, put a wet rag around them
Old 02-10-20, 08:38 PM
dsaul

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Quoted: 714 Post(s)
Liked 800 Times in 475 Posts
You need to use the inserts with a dummy axle installed. The drive side being threaded is not an issue. It will be obvious when you have the parts and the dummy axle in hand. In order to align the dropouts with each other, I push the rockers all the way forward with the dummy axle installed and only tightened on one side. I set the dummy axle on a 123 block on a relatively flat surface and align the chainstay ends of the frame part with the flat surface. When the chainstay ends are aligned and the dummy axle is flat on the 123 block, I tighten the other side of the dummy axle to hold them in alignment.