Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Hub spoke hole diameters and spoke size

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-21, 07:50 PM
agnewton

Bikes: Peugeot UO-10, '78; Fuji Sp.RR, '73, mixte '75

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked 25 Times in 19 Posts

I am building a set of wheels with a pair of used, Hi Flange Normandy hubs from the mid 70s. I don't have the original spokes, but I got them off a 75 Raleigh Gran Prix, Mixte with steel rims. I am new to wheel building so I am unsure of which gauge/ diameter spoke I should buy to build the wheels. So I'd like to ask you all before I plunk down $70 for a set in the wrong size spokes.

The wheel building books say that spoke hole diameters range from 2.4-2.6 mm, but my average measurement for these hub spoke holes is 2.35 mm (N=16). That's smaller than the same measurement for two other hubs that I have (A Used Shimano, dia= 2.57 mm; and a NOS Sunshine dia= 2.54 mm); Only a NOS Campagnolo hub I have is close (2.32 mm). I have test fit 2.3 mm and 2.0 mm spokes in the hub; 2.3 mm doesn't make it through the bend and 2.0 mm doesn't seat all the way into the hole in the hub. (picture below). I don't have any smaller spokes for further test fits in the hub.

I have seen 1.8 mm diameter spokes for sale on eBay. Would those be the correct size to buy or will they pull out when tensioned? Or should I buy 2.0 mm spokes and assume that when tension is applied to the spokes they will imprint into the softer aluminum hubs and be seated properly? I weigh about 200 +/- 10 lbs. if that should be considered in the spoke size decision. Have I overthought this?

Thank you all,
Aric

Old 08-10-21, 07:56 PM
Nessism

Bikes: Homebuilt steel

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)