Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

How far is too far to commute?

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-18, 06:00 PM
DaleOfCannon

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm applying for a new job that will allow me to commute, but I'm not sure if it's feasible. It's 22 miles one way which seems a bit much to me as I'm a commute by bicycle novice. Is this doable or are my reservations just?

Last edited by DaleOfCannon; 08-19-18 at 06:09 PM. Reason: Spelling
Old 08-19-18, 06:21 PM
Papa Tom

Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Quoted: 863 Post(s)
Liked 234 Times in 136 Posts
To me, it sounds like something you might want to do one or two days a week. I know there are people here with that kind of daily commute, but I would set my personal limit at about 5 miles each way. Mind you, I am 55 years old.

Some things to consider are how flat or hilly the ride is, how much traffic you'll be riding in, and what kind of physical shape you are in. Also, what kind of work do you do? Twenty-two miles will have you sweating and stinking pretty bad by the time you get to the office. And if you get caught in bad weather, is there an alternate way to get home?

Good luck. I hope you figure out a way to commute by bike at least sometimes.
Old 08-19-18, 07:05 PM
ThermionicScott 
working on my sandal tan

Bikes: 1991 Bianchi Eros, 1964 Armstrong, 1988 Diamondback Ascent, 1988 Bianchi Premio, 1987 Bianchi Sport SX, 1980s Raleigh mixte (hers), All-City Space Horse (hers)

Mentioned: 98 Post(s)
Quoted: 3871 Post(s)
Liked 2,568 Times in 1,579 Posts
Check my signature. Mostly the first quote, but the second may apply too.
People in this forum are not typical.
RUSA #7498