Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

First Crash - Advice Requested

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Old 05-18-15, 12:37 PM
alfredoR

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm a recreational rider that has been taking cycling more serious since October 2014. I have seen some improvements and with my weight loss I've gotten faster. I'm still learning bike control (can't ride with my hands off the handlebars for long and can't do a track stand)

Anyway, Saturdays I do a group ride that is semi peloton style in the sense that it is about a 54 mile ride with three designated areas for increasing speed. The first section is "the warehouse" which is three laps with a sprint finish and everyone who gets dropped within the three laps waits at the finish. The second is section is a long straight and the third is loop called "el hueco" which consists of another 3 laps with a sprint finish.

I decided to conserve my energy for the "el hueco" section and at least give a strong leadout (the fast guys usually pass me right at the end anyway.)
Anyway, on the last lap, on the last straight away, I'm moving up the field quickly holding a wheel and waiting for an opening so I can empty the tank.