Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

start up shop

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

start up shop

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-10, 06:07 AM
marvelous

Bikes: austro daimler

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
start up shop

I went to the Barnett Bicycle Institute this past fall. It was a great time. I have been working towards opening my own shop since August of 2009. If you have ever attempted something like this please tell me of your experience, whether you were successful or not. I am very interested in hearing your stories.
Old 01-08-10, 06:44 AM
bykemike 

Bikes: 2017 BMC Roadmachine 01 Enve wheels, Sram red etap,Cinelli Vigorelli single speed, 2009 Cannondale Capo, 2016 trek Domane 6.9, disc and Di2, 2016 Scott Scale 710, 27.5 plus tires and boost rims

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked 203 Times in 81 Posts
Have you ever opened any type of business before? If not there is tons of fun coming your way. :>)

It appears you are in a good area to do this and I wish you the best.

Mike
Old 01-08-10, 08:09 AM
wrk101
Thrifty Bill

Bikes: 86 Katakura Silk, 87 Prologue X2, 88 Cimarron LE, 1975 Sekai 4000 Professional, 73 Paramount, plus more

Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Quoted: 1236 Post(s)
Liked 964 Times in 628 Posts
Do you have a regular job already? If so, I would consider a shop at home first. Easy to advertise on Craigs List, zero overhead, allows you to build a business without putting serious money at risk.

Lots of overhead in having a bricks and mortar shop. All of that can be avoided by having a home shop.