Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Front Wheel Release

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Front Wheel Release

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-13, 02:40 AM
jonnyoldham22

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Front Wheel Release

Hi,
I am a newb when it comes to bikes.

I have just brought a koner coiler deluxe 2007 and am struggling with releasing the front wheel! I have never come across a wheel attachment like it! Its on the Marzocchi 66 RV ETA 160mm travel. I wish to take the front wheel off for storage, is there a way I could put quick release on?

Thanks!
Old 10-08-13, 03:54 AM
Zef

Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
It helps to add a picture of what your dealing with to orient folks who may be able to help.

I looked up your bike and the specs state the fork has 20mm dropouts and the front hub has a 20mm axle. This refers to it being a "through axle" design.

With this design you loosen the the two bolts on each of the fork ends that clamp the axle in the fork and the entire axle slides out of the hub...then the wheel can be removed from between the fork.

For replacement it is best to find out what the torque spec of the bolts are so you are sure to tighten them enough without tightening them so much that you break a bolt or strip the fork ends.