Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Can an 8 speed shifter be made to work with a 7 speed cassette?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-20, 03:34 PM
jc907

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Howdy folks,

Please have patience with this newbie to the forum if my question seems like a "Duh!" one. I've been out of the saddle a looong time (mountain bikes were a new novelty when I started riding) and I've found the tech's changed dramatically since those days when I virtually lived on 2 wheels.

I've taken my 1995 GT Tequesta out of mothball and had to 86 the original Shimano STX rear/right hand shifter. I tried rehabing it by completely dismantling & degreasing out the tar/sand/crude that was not letting the cam engage. I cleaned it thoroughly with trichlorethylbadstuff, but found after rebuilding the unit and applying a light silicone lubricant to the metal parts, I could only get 6 shifts out of it and not the 7 that it used to do, hence, my decision to deep 6 it altogether.

Obviously the STX line's long discontinued & 7 speed units that are Shimano derailleur compatible are not easy to find as most units are now 8, 9, 10 or higher speeds. I'd like to avoid replacing the rear derailleur and/or cassette as both are still in good working order showing minimal wear and tear.

I've been told I can use an 8 speed shifter as long as it's Shimano derailleur compatible and simply limit the derailleur travel using the derailleurs limiting screws.

Is that true and/or are there other things I need to take into consideration?

Thanks in advance for reading and I look forward to hearing from anyone out there.
Old 05-11-20, 04:06 PM
KenCarlson