Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Best hybrid bike for a newbie?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-18, 04:02 PM
TusconRoad

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello,
I am new to cycling (have only done recreational weeklong cycling trips while on vacation at 30miles/day). I've enjoyed these trips and am now considering commuting to work by bike ~3 miles each way, flat terrain. I'm looking at these 3 used options:
1) $150, Jamis Citizen 1 hybrid bike
2) $150, Giant Sedona step thru hybrid (14'' frame)
3) $150, Specialized women's small framed hybrid (unclear model) Gears: 21 speed, Wheels: 700
Per sellers, all are in good to excellent condition with no tune-up required. Any suggestions on which bike is best suited for short commutes and possibly recreational weekend riding?
Thanks!
Old 06-22-18, 05:30 PM
Witterings

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked 37 Times in 29 Posts
If I were you with a relatively limited budget I'd probably consider a Walmart bike ... there's a whole thread dedicated to how good they are here

https://www.bikeforums.net/general-c...her-s-day.html
Old 06-22-18, 06:02 PM
TusconRoad

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks, Witterings. Most ppl on that thread and on other threads on these forums discourage buying from big box retailers. I thought buying a used decent bike would be a good starter to see if cycling is for me. Are these used bikes not a good-bang-for-buck? My other option is buying new. I'm looking at a Cannondale Quick 7 for $500 but since I'm fairly non-committal, I thought a used between $100-200 to start with would be good.
Old 06-22-18, 06:31 PM
katsup