Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Campagnolo - Nuovo or Super Record?

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-08, 11:15 AM
Dawes-man
十人十色

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked 26 Times in 19 Posts

Hello from Tokyo. I'm a new convert to cycling in general and to Campagnolo parts in particular. I've been riding a 1982 Dawes for the past 4 years, the first bike that's ever made me go, 'Wow! This is fun.'

In the past few weeks I've become enamoured of 1970s steel frame bikes and bought 2 Trex frames (a 78 and an 82, both 700 series), a 1976 Mercian frame and a 1978 Woodrup bicycle with a complete Nuovo Record groupset plus a complete Super Record groupset that I intend to fit to the frames I've bought, one after the other, in order to find out what they ride like.

The thing is, I can't find out what the difference between Nuovo Record and Super Record parts is. At the time, was one better and/or more expensive than the other, or was it just a case of them being designed for different applications... like touring and racing?

I'm sure someone here can cast light on this... I'd be very grateful for any info.

Thanks!
Old 01-18-08, 11:29 AM
East Hill
Lanky Lass

Location: Take a deep breath, and ask--What would Sheldon do?

Bikes: Nishiki Nut! International, Pro, Olympic 12, Sport mixte, and others too numerous to mention.

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Hi Dawes-man, we can help!

Welcome to BF!

East Hill
Old 01-18-08, 11:39 AM
orangepaint

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Super Record came later than Nuovo Record though I think they also sold at the same time. Super Record is the technologically superior group.