Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Recumbent
Reload this Page >

Riding alongside upright bikes

Search
Notices
Recumbent What IS that thing?! Recumbents may be odd looking, but they have many advantages over a "wedgie" bicycle. Discuss the in's and out's recumbent lifestyle in the recumbent forum.

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-17, 08:59 AM
Spectre66

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am new to recumbents and I wanted to know what I should keep in mind when riding alongside traditional bikes. What difficulties occur with mixed traffic?
Old 11-14-17, 10:07 AM
BlazingPedals

Bikes: Trek 7500, RANS V-Rex, Optima Baron, Velokraft NoCom, M-5 Carbon Highracer, Catrike Speed

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 1514 Post(s)
Liked 734 Times in 455 Posts
Make sure they know you're there. Otherwise, they tend to do a quick shoulder-check before zigging in or out, and guess who is there but not at their shoulder level?
Old 11-14-17, 10:48 AM
Spectre66

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah, I have gotten advice to stay at the back of the paceline and to make room where needed. Also considering putting my flag on the front of my trike so it isn’t in anyone’s face and so it’s visible to folks rotating back.
Old 11-14-17, 12:42 PM
VegasTriker

Bikes: Catrike 700, Greenspeed GTO trike, , Linear LWB recumbent, Haluzak Horizon SWB recumbent, Balance 450 MTB, Cannondale SM800 Beast of the East

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Quoted: 523 Post(s)
Liked 230 Times in 182 Posts
I occasionally ride with a group of mixed recumbents and DF bikes. There hasn't ever been a problem with the mixture. Most of the club rides in my area are way faster than my pace so I don't bother.