Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Thoughts on a possible Cinelli?

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-19, 05:03 PM
Iowegian

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked 14 Times in 12 Posts

I'm contemplating buying this frameset as I don't have a good Cino or Eroica bike and this one fits (in both ways). I'm not an expert on Cinelli's but this sure looks like a 72-ish model although the seat stays are no where close to what is normal. The seller thinks the bike may have been repaired or modified in this area (and repainted obviously). The rest of the parts all look original and seem to be the correct parts. Seller also mentioned that the crankset was a 180mm Campy which is a bit unusual, I would think. The bike was from a neighbor who knew he was into 'old bikes'.

So what do you think? I'm out of my depth here on what this is. It's obviously not a 100% original Cinelli but that's fine with me since I'm not a collector. It does check all the boxes I need for a Cino/Eroica bike but I don't want to claim it is something it is not, as well as pay a price for something that it is not.

Old 08-20-19, 05:46 PM
P!N20

Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Quoted: 1079 Post(s)
Liked 1,898 Times in 931 Posts
Disclaimer: I'm no Cinelli expert.

If the seat cluster has been repaired then it's a super neat job - the seat stay caps would have been in a different location altogether. However the lack of chrome to the lug there while the other lugs are chromed may lend weight to the theory. Any evidence of repairs inside the seat tube?

The cutouts in the lugs are obviously Cinelli, but easily copied, too. I'd like to have a look under the bottom bracket shell to see what the cutout/serial number is.