Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Help choosing Gravel Bike

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-24, 12:26 PM
airpower81

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Help choosing Gravel Bike

I am just getting into gravel cycling and am looking for my first bike. I am torn between the Trek Checkpoint AL5 and the Speacialized Diverge Comp E5. Both have things I like. I would be using it for a mix of gravel and paved.
Old 03-03-24, 12:54 PM
mstateglfr 
Sunshine

Bikes: '18 class built steel roadbike, '19 Fairlight Secan, '88 Schwinn Premis , Black Mountain Cycles Monstercross V4, '89 Novara Trionfo

Mentioned: 123 Post(s)
Quoted: 10965 Post(s)
Liked 7,491 Times in 4,189 Posts
Originally Posted by airpower81
I am just getting into gravel cycling and am looking for my first bike. I am torn between the Trek Checkpoint AL5 and the Speacialized Diverge Comp E5. Both have things I like. I would be using it for a mix of gravel and paved.
Those have pretty different geometry, at least in my size. If those are the final 2 you are considering,then I would say you should base your decision on which you like the feel of more since riding geometry will logically feel different.
...but that's me and my size and what I value.
Old 03-03-24, 02:07 PM
airpower81

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I’m 5’8 so in most bikes I’m a 54. I am definitely looking for comfort for longer rides. I’m also open to anything in the $2,000 range.
Old 03-03-24, 03:36 PM
Samac

Bikes: ‘23 Salsa Cutthroat, ‘12 Cannondale Synapse, ‘09 Cannondale Rize, ‘00 Jamis Tangier, ‘87 Trek 1000

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked 50 Times in 27 Posts