Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Front derailleur adjustment — maybe my cable is binding?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-20, 06:21 PM
3940dxer

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 2 Posts

I have a Specialized Rubaix road bike (love that bike) with stock Shimano derailleurs. I’ve been riding for about 10 years and despite being fairly mechanical (I’ve serviced a lot of intricate tape recorder mechanisms over the years and have a pretty elaborate shop) I've always been a little intimidated by derailleur adjustment. A couple of weeks ago my dealer did a drivetrain cleaning and servicing but after I got it back I had a lot of chain rub on the front derailleur. The guy’s on vacation now but I decided ok, this is it, I’m going to buy a good service stand, park myself in the shop, and study and practice the adjustments until I’m comfortable with them and have a smooth running bike. With the ongoing covid lockdown, it seems like the right time.

So I started today but ran into a possible issue and would like some advice. The Youtube videos and how to articles I’ve seen say that after adjusting the L limit screw for the right gap with the small chainring engaged, I should turn the barrel adjuster to slacken the cable, and then repeat the L adjustment.