Go Back  Bike Forums > The Racer's Forum > "The 33"-Road Bike Racing
Reload this Page >

Wireless SRM un-pairing from 705 after mid-ride stop

"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Wireless SRM un-pairing from 705 after mid-ride stop

Old 06-07-10, 09:13 AM
  #1  
bdcheung
Carpe Diem
Thread Starter
 
bdcheung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MABRA
Posts: 13,149

Bikes: 2007 CAAD9; 2014 CAADX; PedalForce CG1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wireless SRM un-pairing from 705 after mid-ride stop

(Posted to the Garmin forum and Wattage list with no luck, hoping someone here can help)

On a group ride Sunday, the entire group stopped when a rider crashed. During this time, my bike was laying on the ground (on the non-drive side) and the 705 was left on, timer still running (i.e. I did not hit "Start/Stop" and auto-pause is not enabled). When the group started up again, the 705 showed zero cadence (I am not using the GSC10 sensor) and zero power. I hit the "Power" button to bring up the display that shows brightness plus what accessories are connected, and confirmed that the 705 was not paired with the SRM (the "power meter" indicator was blinking, not solid).

The only thing that fixed this was pulling over to the side of the road, turning the Garmin completely off, and waiting a minute or two, then turning it back on. After that the unit stayed paired for the remainder of the ride. I did not stop for the remainder of the ride.

Any idea what caused the 705 and SRM to become "unpaired" during that extended stop?
__________________
"When you are chewing the bars at the business end of a 90 mile road race you really dont care what gear you have hanging from your bike so long as it works."
ΛΧΑ ΔΞ179 - 15% off your first Hammer Nutrition order!
bdcheung is offline  
Old 06-07-10, 05:53 PM
  #2  
aicabsolut
Senior Member
 
aicabsolut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,505

Bikes: 2006 Specialized Roubaix Comp

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Was the computer near someone else's ANT+ or Garmin accessories when you were stopped? I borrowed a friend's 705 for a TT when my 305 did its spontaneously lose all battery power thing, and it really had accessory schizophrenia. I paired it with my bike's cadence/speed sensor by setting up a new bike profile (but not HR because I was having a stellar race day and left the HRM strap at home). It was picking up a 3rd person's Garmin HR strap who came to chat with me while I was on the trainer. It started out seeing my sensors and then lost it sometime during my warmup. That prompted me to spend more time playing with the Garmin than warming up. Later on, I learned it hadn't been pairing with its owners HR strap for a while, but it remembered his cadence sensor after I returned it. I couldn't find a setting like on the 305 where you can restart the scan for accessories. I've never had these issues with my 305. I wonder if the 705 head unit gets confused with cross-talk?
aicabsolut is offline  
Old 06-07-10, 06:48 PM
  #3  
brian416
Roadie
 
brian416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mine has done something similar once. I started up my garmin ~45 minutes before a ride and I had to shut it down and restart to get power readings.

Did you wait for the 5-10 seconds for it to start running again once you were moving? If my SRM shuts off from a long stop, that delay before it starts transmitting again seems like alot longer than it is. If you're not patient enough it can seem like it isn't working correctly.
brian416 is offline  
Old 01-24-11, 03:19 AM
  #4  
hoody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
any solutions found for this is it has started to occur with my SRM using edge 500 or 705 very frustrating
hoody is offline  
Old 01-24-11, 09:17 AM
  #5  
obiwan kenobi
Senior Member
 
obiwan kenobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Which version of the firmware are you using, they released 3.3 recently which has resulted in a number of issues for ANT+ users.
obiwan kenobi is offline  
Old 01-24-11, 10:20 AM
  #6  
hoody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
was running edge 500 2.6 when problem started downgraded to 2.4 likewise on my 705 downgraded to 3.1
hoody is offline  
Old 01-24-11, 10:33 AM
  #7  
hoody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
just to add my SRM has 600 hours on it (to be exact 600:58:29) and 17629 km
so should have plenty of juice in the battery
hoody is offline  
Old 01-24-11, 12:10 PM
  #8  
bdcheung
Carpe Diem
Thread Starter
 
bdcheung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MABRA
Posts: 13,149

Bikes: 2007 CAAD9; 2014 CAADX; PedalForce CG1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I sent the crank in to have the batteries replaced and that immediately fixed the issue.

YMMV
__________________
"When you are chewing the bars at the business end of a 90 mile road race you really dont care what gear you have hanging from your bike so long as it works."
ΛΧΑ ΔΞ179 - 15% off your first Hammer Nutrition order!
bdcheung is offline  
Old 01-24-11, 08:15 PM
  #9  
brian416
Roadie
 
brian416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by hoody View Post
just to add my SRM has 600 hours on it (to be exact 600:58:29) and 17629 km
so should have plenty of juice in the battery
Depending on which model you have, battery life on some of the wireless SRMs is only 700hours, so depending on how much cold weather riding you've been doing, the battery might need replacing.
brian416 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mtnbiker66
Mountain Biking
4
04-30-14 10:51 AM
leob1
Foo
14
12-13-13 03:12 PM
jppe
Fifty Plus (50+)
1
08-06-12 03:55 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.