Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

My bike has a bent rim from incorrect inner tube.

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Old 10-22-17, 07:08 PM
Lohengramm

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am new to biking and I went to a bike shop to get a replacement inner tube. My tire size is 700-40C. The seller sold me a 700-37C and he told me it would be fine. Well now my bike rim is all bent up. Is there any way I can force him to pay for the damages? Is this even his fault? I was hit a by a car on October 4th but the rim looked fine after that accident. Could it be that the rim was slightly bent by the crash but I did not notice the damage and then riding the bike resulted in the rim becoming more bent? Or is it the bike store sellers fault? Thank you.
Old 10-22-17, 07:20 PM
bikemig 

Bikes: A bunch of old bikes and a few new ones

Mentioned: 178 Post(s)
Quoted: 5887 Post(s)
Liked 3,470 Times in 2,079 Posts
I am confident that the tube is not what caused the rim to become bent up.
Old 10-22-17, 07:21 PM
veganbikes
Clark W. Griswold

Bikes: Foundry Chilkoot Ti W/Ultegra Di2, Salsa Timberjack Ti, Cinelli Mash Work RandoCross Fun Time Machine, 1x9 XT Parts Hybrid, Co-Motion Cascadia, Specialized Langster, Phil Wood Apple VeloXS Frame (w/DA 7400), R+M Supercharger2 Rohloff, Habanero Ti 26

Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Quoted: 4331 Post(s)
Liked 3,955 Times in 2,644 Posts