Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Replacement for Roadmaster rear derailleur

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-18, 07:16 PM
ptkeam

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

So, I have a Roadmaster Granite Peak (cheap bike, I know, but it works well for me). The rear derailleur (TD One "brand") just won't stay adjusted. I want to replace it with a Shimano Tourney 6 speed derailleur.
Here's my question. Will a Shimano Tourney work with the existing twist shifter and the 6 speed free wheel on this bike??? Or will I have to replace those two?
Thanks
Old 10-07-18, 07:22 PM
Andrew R Stewart 

Bikes: Stewart S&S coupled sport tourer, Stewart Sunday light, Stewart Commuting, Stewart Touring, Co Motion Tandem, Stewart 3-Spd, Stewart Track, Fuji Finest, Mongoose Tomac ATB, GT Bravado ATB, JCP Folder, Stewart 650B ATB

Quoted: 4210 Post(s)
Liked 3,879 Times in 2,315 Posts
IME the vast majority of the off brand der systems mimic Shimano's cable pull specs. But don't be surprised if the system still seems a bit off as the rest still is pretty cheaply done. Andy
Old 10-08-18, 08:04 AM
alcjphil

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Quoted: 1821 Post(s)
Liked 1,696 Times in 976 Posts
Originally Posted by Andrew R Stewart
IME the vast majority of the off brand der systems mimic Shimano's cable pull specs. But don't be surprised if the system still seems a bit off as the rest still is pretty cheaply done. Andy
Agree. It is possible that shift adjustment problems you are having have more to do with your shifter than with the rear derailleur
Old 10-08-18, 09:06 AM
Andrew R Stewart