Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Retire riders and rest

Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Retire riders and rest

Old 07-15-20, 11:29 AM
deacon mark

Bikes: Habanero Titanium Team Nuevo

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked 185 Times in 121 Posts
Retire riders and rest

I am almost 59 and retired. I notice that due to the weather and my situation I can ride a lot which I know is a good thing. My question involves rest. I have been riding basically 50 miles a day for close to 3-4 months. I normally ride 3500-5000 miles a year but this year I has been good. I know I should rest as such but frankly I don't feel the direct need. I don't race and I do not go an try do to century's or something much longer. I just happen to find about 2.5 to 3 hours of riding find and doable. Someday's I am a bit tired but never have sore legs so I just figure do easy and do something. Better than just sitting around.

I would like to know if any retired fellows feel the same way? I ride more than most riders around but of course I cannot match the speeds of good younger riders. I know I could ride faster on less miles but I just like to ride. Anyone else feel that way.
Old 07-15-20, 11:49 AM
nomadmax 

Mentioned: 93 Post(s)
Quoted: 1104 Post(s)
Liked 1,824 Times in 878 Posts
If you're not too tired to take care of all the other things in your life, aren't irritable with people for no good reason and aren't sick a lot; keep doing what you're doing. Everyone is different so there isn't really a good yardstick. At 59 if you want to go faster it's going to take more than riding 50 miles a day at a steady state. You'll never "creep" up on fast by going "medium".
Likes For nomadmax:
Old 07-15-20, 03:24 PM
Iride01 
I'm good to go!

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020