Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Chain w'ear...

Old 03-15-10, 10:27 AM
  #1  
jakerock
helmet brake
Thread Starter
 
jakerock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 625

Bikes: Kilo TT

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Chain w'ear...

The chain on my bike is about a year old, and looks like it needs to be replaced...
Its kind of 'riding up' the splines a bit (when theres no pressure on the drivechain) like its stretching. I think its about a year old more or less...

I didnt think a chain would stretch out so fast...
How often do you guys have to throw a new chain on?
I just dont want to cause my chainring / cog to start wearing funny....

Thanks, J
jakerock is offline  
Old 03-15-10, 10:29 AM
  #2  
PedallingATX
Comanche Racing
 
PedallingATX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
Posts: 2,822

Bikes: Presto NJS build, Specialized Allez Pro w/ full Dura Ace and Ksyrium SLs, 1990something Specialized Sirrus

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
how much do you ride? Depends, really. Chain on my road bike needed replacing after 6 months of hard riding.
PedallingATX is offline  
Old 03-15-10, 10:35 AM
  #3  
TejanoTrackie 
Veteran Racer
 
TejanoTrackie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ciudad de Vacas, Tejas
Posts: 11,153

Bikes: 29 frames + 72 wheels

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts
It depends on the quality of the chain. Cheap chains can wear out very quickly, especially if not kept clean and lubricated. High quality chains with hardened pins can last thousands of miles. I've gotten as little as 500 miles and as much 5000 miles out of a chain.
TejanoTrackie is offline  
Old 03-15-10, 10:38 AM
  #4  
Kenneth
Senior Member
 
Kenneth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by TejanoTrackie View Post
I've gotten as little as 500 miles and as much 5000 miles out of a chain.

Do you remember what chains these were?
Kenneth is offline  
Old 03-15-10, 10:39 AM
  #5  
jakerock
helmet brake
Thread Starter
 
jakerock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 625

Bikes: Kilo TT

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok... so im not crazy! Heh.... well, not regarding this anyway...
I ride pretty much everyday, and I presume that the chain was a cheap one.

Last time I put on a chain was a long time ago, and it had a masterlink, which I assume is not something we are supposed to use on a fixed drivetrain...
I guess its pretty straightforward but is there anything I should watch out for while installing the new one?
Thanks fellers!
jakerock is offline  
Old 03-15-10, 10:41 AM
  #6  
Syscrush
Senior Member
 
Syscrush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked 14 Times in 12 Posts
It depends on the quality of the chain, the cog & chainring, how much you ride, your gear ratio, the weather you ride in, your propensity to cleaning & lubing the chain and keeping it in adjustment, how often you go to church, and the color of your socks.

FYI - chains don't stretch, they wear, which allows the pins to move farther apart. This won't cause the chain to run higher/farther out on the teeth of the sprockets, so I'm not sure what you're seeing.

Take it to a trusted shop, a friend, or post pics on here. If it's worn, replace it - doesn't matter how old or new or how many miles are on it.
Syscrush is offline  
Old 03-15-10, 10:44 AM
  #7  
hairnet
Fresh Garbage
 
hairnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13,196

Bikes: N+1

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked 11 Times in 5 Posts
Originally Posted by jakerock View Post

Last time I put on a chain was a long time ago, and it had a masterlink, which I assume is not something we are supposed to use on a fixed drivetrain...
they're fine
hairnet is offline  
Old 03-15-10, 10:47 AM
  #8  
frymaster
Senior Member
 
frymaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: where the mild things roam
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
get a chain gauge, like this one:

http://www.parktool.com/products/det...at=5&item=CC-3

or join your local bike co-op and use theirs. replace your chain when the gauge tells you to and you'll have no problems.

i replace mine every spring as a matter of rote... but that's because the winters here slay parts.
frymaster is offline  
Old 03-15-10, 10:49 AM
  #9  
TejanoTrackie 
Veteran Racer
 
TejanoTrackie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ciudad de Vacas, Tejas
Posts: 11,153

Bikes: 29 frames + 72 wheels

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Originally Posted by Kenneth View Post
Do you remember what chains these were?
The 500 mile chain was a $3 no-name 1/8 chain from KMart that I threw on a cheap conversion. The 5000 mile chain was a Dura Ace 10-speed chain.
TejanoTrackie is offline  
Old 03-15-10, 11:04 AM
  #10  
PedallingATX
Comanche Racing
 
PedallingATX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Deep in the heart of Texas
Posts: 2,822

Bikes: Presto NJS build, Specialized Allez Pro w/ full Dura Ace and Ksyrium SLs, 1990something Specialized Sirrus

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wait...we're not supposed to use masterlinks on FG drivetrains? I'm using one on mine...what are the potential problems w/ this?
PedallingATX is offline  
Old 03-15-10, 11:05 AM
  #11  
Syscrush
Senior Member
 
Syscrush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Originally Posted by PedallingATX View Post
wait...we're not supposed to use masterlinks on FG drivetrains? I'm using one on mine...what are the potential problems w/ this?
Superstition. If the chain is installed correctly there's no reason to worry.
Syscrush is offline  
Old 03-15-10, 11:08 AM
  #12  
TejanoTrackie 
Veteran Racer
 
TejanoTrackie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ciudad de Vacas, Tejas
Posts: 11,153

Bikes: 29 frames + 72 wheels

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Originally Posted by frymaster View Post
This is a home-made gauge that I use. When the tested chain gets more than 1/4 link longer (1/8") than the baseline chain, I consider it worn out and replace it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
IMGP0646.jpg (102.5 KB, 12 views)
TejanoTrackie is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
coffeesnob
Bicycle Mechanics
22
10-19-16 03:24 AM
mraeryceos
Bicycle Mechanics
17
10-18-14 11:24 PM
crsuperman34
Bicycle Mechanics
25
05-02-14 07:49 PM
lawnerd
Commuting
16
07-17-13 05:11 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.