Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Three (nearly) complete newbies contemplating a trip from Seattle to San Diego

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-13, 07:03 PM
VirgilCA

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi everyone, I hope I don't offend any of the seasoned veterans by the audacity of what we're proposing to do. I actually hope it's not all that audacious but I thought I'd come here to get some opinions. We're primarily looking at following the Pacific Coast Adventure Cycling route.

How bad of an idea is this for a group of inexperienced people to attempt? Primarily I want to know if we are going to be at any kind of serious risk of injury or death. Are there going to be huge stretches without any water or food in sight? Is there some part of the trip that will physically cripple us and be impassable to all but seasoned athletes?

We are three guys in our mid twenties, all reasonably fit. Two of us have never done anything like this before. Myself, I rode from Rome to Florence with a friend a few years back, after which our bikes got stolen. That trip took us about three days of biking for 8-12 hours a day, and it seemed like it was just nonstop mountain after mountain after mountain. It definitely kicked our ass but we never felt like we had to give up, and by the third day we seemed to be getting into a really good rhythm. We trained for less than a month, and not very seriously leading up to it.