Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Clothing for cold weather cycling???

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-18, 07:55 AM
jryoung74

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

This is my first year of considering riding in weather below 55. As I've done a lot of shopping around for clothing and without buying a ton of things to trial, I've come to become a little confused. I do not have the money to go buy a bunch of things to try, so I thought I would seek your opinions on perhaps the type and brands. My plan is to begin riding at around 40F, maybe 35.
I bought a few pairs of Nashbar brand pants. One of them the chamois hangs down about 3 inches below my croch and the other is not too bad. What kind of pants do you recommend? Is it OK to wear a pair of Under Armor compression pants over top a pair of padded shorts? When do leg warmers come into play?
As far as tops, any recommendations on thermal jerseys. What about layering? Is it good to wear a compression shirts under a jersey? When do arm warmers come into play?
I bought a pair of full boot covers, but wanted your opinion on toe warmers. Do they work and are they worth having?
I know there is a lot here, but I thank you in advance for taking the time to read and respond.
Old 03-31-18, 08:08 AM
wphamilton

Bikes: Nashbar Road

Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Quoted: 2934 Post(s)
Liked 341 Times in 228 Posts
I have found that what you wear can be a lot more flexible if you follow the general guidelines.