Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

WTB C&V bike to ride...your opinions, please.

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-18, 07:34 AM
motosman1

Bikes: GT Rebound

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello all, newbie here. I am looking for an older bike to ride in my 'hood and community for fitness and relaxation. I am a mechanical/technical geek and understand the value of quality materials, weights, rolling resistance, etc... I want an older bike because I don't want a "cookie cutter" new bike. I'm not looking to be accepted by the masses. I want something that one doesn't see every day. Although, I am thrifty and value a "smokin' deal" as much as the next miser. Because it has been decades since I rode a bicycle (been riding motorcycles for 40+ yrs), I don't want to wrap up $ in a collector's bike only to realize I like working on bikes more than riding them. So, that being said...

I became really intrigued with a Bridgestone/Kabuki Hilltopper on my local Craigslist. Listed as ready to ride for $75. Pictures tell me it needs tires and lubrication as well as overall cleanup, but it is complete. Looks like it has been stored inside, hopefully. Listed as 1970's era, it does have the Bridgestone name on the Kabuki headbadge. Orange in color with chrome lower half of fork. It looks like chrome steel wheels. High Ten decal on fork indicates a high tensile steel frame, correct? I'm curious as to what it weighs.