Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Recumbent
Reload this Page >

Help! my feet get numb!

Search
Notices
Recumbent What IS that thing?! Recumbents may be odd looking, but they have many advantages over a "wedgie" bicycle. Discuss the in's and out's recumbent lifestyle in the recumbent forum.

Help! my feet get numb!

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-05, 10:13 PM
sandyrtt

Bikes: road, mountain, recumbent

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Help! my feet get numb!

Hello,

I'm new to recumbents. I just had a Rans Tailwind that I bought on e bay assembled this past Saturday and took it for a ride. It's great! However, I noticed that my forefoot gets numb and tingly and sometimes my knee hurts. I read somewhere that it takes awhile for the knees to get used to the new position.

How long? and what about the feet? I've been riding 10 to 12 miles each day since I've had it to break in easy, mostly on flats (had to push it up a hill because of my knee burning.) I have some mountain bike clipless pedals and shoes that I will put on once I get used to the bike and worry less about falling.

Any advice appreciated!
Thanks,
Sandy
Old 09-07-05, 07:22 AM
jeff-o
Recumbent Evangelist

Bikes: Rebel Cycles Trike, Trek 7500FX

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Try placing the pedals closer to the middle of your feet, rather than towards your toes.
Old 09-07-05, 09:55 AM
LRtrike
Luv2ridebent

Bikes: WhizWheelz 3.2, Quetzel Presario, Cannondale (upright)

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've had to start taking Glucosamine Chondroitin for my knees. It takes a while for it to get into your system, but well worth using.
Old 09-07-05, 06:31 PM
megaman
Approaching Nirvana

Bikes: Catrike Expedition

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bents could be hard on your knees since you're new to them. Spin, don't mash.
Old 09-07-05, 06:31 PM
sandyrtt

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks!
Old 09-08-05, 02:35 PM
ppc
Senile Member

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts