Search
Notices
Northeast Connecticut | Maine | Massachusetts | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New York |Rhode Island | Vermont |

Vermonters!

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-20, 06:02 PM
CoyDawg

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 2 Posts
Vermonters!

Are there any Vermonters out there? I'm relatively new to cycling but would like to read of your experiences and where you cycle.

Kevin
Old 08-13-20, 01:44 PM
bktourer1

Bikes: Diamondback "parkway" Spec. "expedition

Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked 42 Times in 33 Posts
Check this out

Missisquoi Valley Rail Trail & the Island Line Trail

Last edited by bktourer1; 08-13-20 at 01:46 PM. Reason: an addition
Old 08-13-20, 02:24 PM
Pratt

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked 498 Times in 295 Posts
Where in VT?
Over half the road miles in the state are dirt, but dirt can be beautiful. It usually has lighter traffic. There are two bike trails that cross the state; a very rugged one runs north-south, through the spine of the Green Mountains, one more suited to human consumption runs east-west, between Burlington and Wells River. The latter is on some roads and some old railroad right way, ~90 miles. It is relatively flat, and in Wells River it connects with the Cross New Hampshire Adventure trail which runs ~80 miles to Bethel, Maine, also pretty flat. Burlington has some bikeways that head north to the islands, and, eventually to Montreal, if they ever start letting us in again. Two bike shops to check out are Old Spokes Home, in Burlington,and Onion River.
Welcome to Vermont, and good luck
Old 08-14-20, 08:39 AM
Steve B.

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel, Specialized Epic Evo

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Quoted: 3238 Post(s)
Liked 2,086 Times in 1,181 Posts
Originally Posted by Pratt
Where in VT?