Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Di2 rear mech not adjusting.

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Di2 rear mech not adjusting.

Old 03-28-20, 09:36 AM
  #1  
irish pat
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: new paltz, ny
Posts: 637

Bikes: kestrel talon, Ultegra group,AC sprint 350 wheelset, Trek alpha sl 2500, 105 group,Mavic ssl sl wheelset, ridley crossbow, 105 rear der, single front, Redline Conquest, tiagra group, Fuji single speed, Mongoose Mtn bike,

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Di2 rear mech not adjusting.

I have a specialized Tarmac disc with Di2. It was all working perfect until last week, then it started getting a little noisy in the upper/easy gears. I went to adjust it this morning. In the smaller chainring at the front, it won't shift into the upper cog (28t). it wont stay in the third cog from the top either. It shifts onto the 11, at the bottom of the cassette, which it's not supposed to do. Ive adjusted the upper and lower limit screws and tried the instructions online to adjust it. the only way I am able to adjust it, is to go down, so i can stop it before the second last cog at the back, and then when it is at the smallest cog, it gives 2 shifts at the bottom, before it starts moving up the cassette, and then it stops on the 9th cog instead of all the way up to the 11th.
The chain is almost new, the bike has only about 2000km on it.
I've also tried the crash reset on it, I am wondering if there is a full reset anywhere? I had di2 on my other bike and never had an issue with it, any help is appreciated, thanks.
irish pat is offline  
Old 03-31-20, 06:10 AM
  #2  
TerryDi2C
Di2 fanatic
 
TerryDi2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
I was going to reply to this and then for some reason I decided not to. But here I am!
Let's try to fix this ;-)

I think the first thing I would do would be to connect the bike to a windows computer, start e-tube project for windows and then check the current RD adjustment setting. I would reset that to '0' and start over.
Also, e-tube project will tell you (if you go to RD adjustment) what gear it thinks the rear derailleur is in. Double check this to make sure yours isn't offset by one gear somehow.

It shifting onto the 11T is not something that would worry me. The feature that blocks the smallest sprockets (Gear Position Control) can be disabled and is only enabled for some cassette / chain ring combinations anyway .

If it has worked just fine until last week I would also double check the rear derailleur hanger. A Di2 bike doesn't really go 'off' on its own.
TerryDi2C is offline  
Old 03-31-20, 07:29 AM
  #3  
irish pat
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: new paltz, ny
Posts: 637

Bikes: kestrel talon, Ultegra group,AC sprint 350 wheelset, Trek alpha sl 2500, 105 group,Mavic ssl sl wheelset, ridley crossbow, 105 rear der, single front, Redline Conquest, tiagra group, Fuji single speed, Mongoose Mtn bike,

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by TerryDi2C View Post
I was going to reply to this and then for some reason I decided not to. But here I am!
Let's try to fix this ;-)

I think the first thing I would do would be to connect the bike to a windows computer, start e-tube project for windows and then check the current RD adjustment setting. I would reset that to '0' and start over.
Also, e-tube project will tell you (if you go to RD adjustment) what gear it thinks the rear derailleur is in. Double check this to make sure yours isn't offset by one gear somehow.

It shifting onto the 11T is not something that would worry me. The feature that blocks the smallest sprockets (Gear Position Control) can be disabled and is only enabled for some cassette / chain ring combinations anyway .

If it has worked just fine until last week I would also double check the rear derailleur hanger. A Di2 bike doesn't really go 'off' on its own.


Hey Terry, I checked the mech hanger first, and I put on a new one, that was my initial thought.
I know that it is not supposed to shift into the last two cogs on the cassette when on the small ring in front, which is why I think there's definitely something in the software of the rear mech, or the shifter.

I only have a macbook, but I'll see if I can get 'etube' to work on it, thank you verry much for your suggestions, I'll post back in the next few days when I get an opportunity to work on it.

Patrick
irish pat is offline  
Likes For irish pat:
Old 03-31-20, 07:47 AM
  #4  
TerryDi2C
Di2 fanatic
 
TerryDi2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Unfortunately Shimano haven't made e-tube project available for mac, but if you can run windows on it or borrow a friend's windows laptop that would help
TerryDi2C is offline  
Old 04-30-20, 05:29 AM
  #5  
MugenSi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 11 Times in 4 Posts
Before doing any of that, I would plug out the battery and effectively switch Di2 off and switch it on again and see if the problem still happens, if that doesn't cure it then e-tube is the next step.
MugenSi is offline  
Old 04-30-20, 07:16 AM
  #6  
bldegle2
Dangerous Old Man
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 96

Bikes: 2 custom built full Carbon road bikes, built by Moi...

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
The local shop had one that did much the same they were working before one of our group rides. Turns out a 'reset' of the DI2, then a normal shifter tuneup got it back to normal. No amount of adjusting would get it right until the reset....
bldegle2 is offline  
Old 04-30-20, 08:59 PM
  #7  
wsteve464
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked 64 Times in 57 Posts
Originally Posted by irish pat View Post
\

I only have a macbook, but I'll see if I can get 'etube' to work on it, thank you verry much for your suggestions, I'll post back in the next few days when I get an opportunity to work on it.

Patrick
Cheap windows computers are around $200. To me it would be worth it to buy one and learn how to adjust it myself. With the E-tube you can also download and install any upgrades to the components
wsteve464 is offline  
Old 04-30-20, 10:14 PM
  #8  
irish pat
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: new paltz, ny
Posts: 637

Bikes: kestrel talon, Ultegra group,AC sprint 350 wheelset, Trek alpha sl 2500, 105 group,Mavic ssl sl wheelset, ridley crossbow, 105 rear der, single front, Redline Conquest, tiagra group, Fuji single speed, Mongoose Mtn bike,

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by wsteve464 View Post
Cheap windows computers are around $200. To me it would be worth it to buy one and learn how to adjust it myself. With the E-tube you can also download and install any upgrades to the components

mommy girlfriend has one, but we are on lockdown at the minute, when itís over Iíll use it. Iíve enough stuff accumulated, 8 bikes in the garage, I donít need to start buying laptops for the bikes, as well as having: powermeter, I hzvd to draw the line somewhere 😂
irish pat is offline  
Old 05-01-20, 09:29 AM
  #9  
Crankycrank
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,672
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 274 Post(s)
Liked 78 Times in 63 Posts
Originally Posted by irish pat View Post
Hey Terry, I checked the mech hanger first, and I put on a new one, that was my initial thought.
A new hanger doesn't always mount up perfectly aligned and needs to be checked. Probably not your issue but a good idea to rule it out as a problem.
Crankycrank is offline  
Likes For Crankycrank:
Old 05-01-20, 11:58 AM
  #10  
irish pat
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: new paltz, ny
Posts: 637

Bikes: kestrel talon, Ultegra group,AC sprint 350 wheelset, Trek alpha sl 2500, 105 group,Mavic ssl sl wheelset, ridley crossbow, 105 rear der, single front, Redline Conquest, tiagra group, Fuji single speed, Mongoose Mtn bike,

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Crankycrank View Post
A new hanger doesn't always mount up perfectly aligned and needs to be checked. Probably not your issue but a good idea to rule it out as a problem.
Appreciate that, itís not the hanger, itís only happening in the small ring, definitely a tech problem I feel, so rather than complicating the crap out of it, Iíll do the etube. Ive plenty of other bikes to ride in the meantime, 👍🏼
irish pat is offline  
Old 05-17-20, 01:22 AM
  #11  
irish pat
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: new paltz, ny
Posts: 637

Bikes: kestrel talon, Ultegra group,AC sprint 350 wheelset, Trek alpha sl 2500, 105 group,Mavic ssl sl wheelset, ridley crossbow, 105 rear der, single front, Redline Conquest, tiagra group, Fuji single speed, Mongoose Mtn bike,

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I finally got around to trying to fix this issue, but have not been successful.

the rear mech is offset by one gear and I canít get it to go to the top cog, it says itís in 1 in etube, but itís really in 2 etc.
Iím no better off

Originally Posted by TerryDi2C View Post
I was going to reply to this and then for some reason I decided not to. But here I am!
Let's try to fix this ;-)

I think the first thing I would do would be to connect the bike to a windows computer, start e-tube project for windows and then check the current RD adjustment setting. I would reset that to '0' and start over.
Also, e-tube project will tell you (if you go to RD adjustment) what gear it thinks the rear derailleur is in. Double check this to make sure yours isn't offset by one gear somehow.

It shifting onto the 11T is not something that would worry me. The feature that blocks the smallest sprockets (Gear Position Control) can be disabled and is only enabled for some cassette / chain ring combinations anyway .

If it has worked just fine until last week I would also double check the rear derailleur hanger. A Di2 bike doesn't really go 'off' on its own.
irish pat is offline  
Old 05-18-20, 06:59 AM
  #12  
TerryDi2C
Di2 fanatic
 
TerryDi2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Does that mean the RD adjustment is currently maxed out? To -16?
TerryDi2C is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.