Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Di2 Wireless Unit feedback

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Di2 Wireless Unit feedback

Old 05-27-20, 08:06 PM
  #26  
Koyote
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 923 Post(s)
Liked 805 Times in 398 Posts
Originally Posted by Koyote View Post
Di2 is fine in wet and muddy conditions. In fact, it probably works better (more reliable) than mechanical in those settings.

in my estimation, the D-fly Bluetooth unit is a “must-have“ for Di2. It costs so little and gives you so much additional functionality.
Originally Posted by Troul View Post
didn't work well in the water/mud zones, but ymmv.
Please tell us about your experience…Even if it is anecdotal, I’d like to hear it.
Koyote is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 08:11 AM
  #27  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,332

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked 167 Times in 106 Posts
Originally Posted by tntyz View Post
To me, the big advantages are control of screens with the top buttons, seeing the actual battery level of the Di2, and seeing the gears that I'm in. I wish Shimano would have built in the connectivity, but at $75 plus the cost of a cable, it's worth it to me.
That's pretty much the one reason I want the unit. I checked my Di2 yesterday and I have a flashing green light. I'd much prefer to know the exact battery level as opposed to taking my best guess.
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 09:23 AM
  #28  
August West
Senior Member
 
August West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 363

Bikes: Domane SLR7 Project One. Fuel EX 8 XT.

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked 126 Times in 74 Posts
Originally Posted by tntyz View Post
To me, the big advantages are control of screens with the top buttons, seeing the actual battery level of the Di2, and seeing the gears that I'm in.
I forgot buttons, battery and gear indicator functions were part of the D-Fly. Even more reason to get one. I use these features every ride. Check the battery level at least once and continuously monitor the gear position on my Edge 830 main screen. I'd get it just for that.
August West is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 10:36 AM
  #29  
cybirr 
Beer & Bikes
 
cybirr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 78

Bikes: '07 Specialized Roubaix Expert, '20 Specialized Roubaix Expert, '20 Specialized Shiv Elite

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked 49 Times in 21 Posts
Originally Posted by tntyz View Post
To me, the big advantages are control of screens with the top buttons, seeing the actual battery level of the Di2, and seeing the gears that I'm in. I wish Shimano would have built in the connectivity, but at $75 plus the cost of a cable, it's worth it to me.
Agree completely. I've two pages on my Garmin 530, just for pre-ride status check and curiosity. Having the buttons setup for screens make this a quick check-and-forget.



Battery, GPS, lights, time, vehicles

Di2 shift & gearing info
cybirr is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 10:41 AM
  #30  
GeneO
Senior Member
 
GeneO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: midwest
Posts: 2,443

Bikes: 2018 Roubaix Expert Di2, 2016 Diverge Expert X1

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 459 Post(s)
Liked 99 Times in 69 Posts
Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post
That's pretty much the one reason I want the unit. I checked my Di2 yesterday and I have a flashing green light. I'd much prefer to know the exact battery level as opposed to taking my best guess.
And not to mention you can adjust the shift mode and get a display of the derailleur adjustments as you are doing this. Really like being able to flip through the Garmin screens without leaving the hood - I have my right set to advance forward with a click and backwards with a double click.
GeneO is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 11:11 AM
  #31  
Koyote
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 923 Post(s)
Liked 805 Times in 398 Posts
Originally Posted by GeneO View Post
And not to mention you can adjust the shift mode and get a display of the derailleur adjustments as you are doing this. Really like being able to flip through the Garmin screens without leaving the hood - I have my right set to advance forward with a click and backwards with a double click.
So, I've gotta know: what does your left button do, then?
Koyote is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 01:50 PM
  #32  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 4,412

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1625 Post(s)
Liked 334 Times in 236 Posts
Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post
That's pretty much the one reason I want the unit. I checked my Di2 yesterday and I have a flashing green light. I'd much prefer to know the exact battery level as opposed to taking my best guess.
See my post above. If you have the shop install the XT display, in place of the A Junction and wireless unit, not only do you save $85, but the display unit shows you what gears you are in, and that's actually more useful then you can imagine, but you also get a battery level display. Only downside is it takes up some space on the handlebar.

https://bike.shimano.com/en-US/produ.../SC-MT800.html
Steve B. is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 02:39 PM
  #33  
GeneO
Senior Member
 
GeneO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: midwest
Posts: 2,443

Bikes: 2018 Roubaix Expert Di2, 2016 Diverge Expert X1

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 459 Post(s)
Liked 99 Times in 69 Posts
Originally Posted by Koyote View Post
So, I've gotta know: what does your left button do, then?
Currently navigation,
GeneO is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 03:00 PM
  #34  
Bryan C. 
nothing to see here
 
Bryan C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Antioch, CA
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked 101 Times in 54 Posts
I have my BT unit in line with my battery wire. With a seat post mounted battery all I need to do is remove my seat post and disconnect the BT unit if it actually does fail.

I'm still working with my set up and trying to get used to the app. So far all I needed it for was the initial set up. Still need to pair it with my garmin but the data it provides looks pretty slick.
Bryan C. is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 03:43 PM
  #35  
kissTheApex
Senior Member
 
kissTheApex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,212

Bikes: Yes please

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 399 Post(s)
Liked 190 Times in 137 Posts
Mine also resides in the seatpost for the last 9 months and never had a problem with it. Once during an indoor ride, it dropped connection long enough for me to notice.

no new firmware releases since the time I got it, so never updated the firmware with it, but I believe the initial wireless updates bricking the Di2 issues were resolved with an app update.
kissTheApex is offline  
Likes For kissTheApex:
Old 05-28-20, 03:51 PM
  #36  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 4,412

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1625 Post(s)
Liked 334 Times in 236 Posts
Originally Posted by kissTheApex View Post
Mine also resides in the seatpost for the last 9 months and never had a problem with it. Once during an indoor ride, it dropped connection long enough for me to notice.

no new firmware releases since the time I got it, so never updated the firmware with it, but I believe the initial wireless updates bricking the Di2 issues were resolved with an app update.
I think this is correct. I just installed an XT Di2 ssytem, it INSISTED I had to use the mobile version in order to check and update the units. It would not do this on the PC link. It still failed 4 times before the 5th try worked, so clearly Shimano hasn't perfected this as yet and is the reason I don;t muck with my road system, it works so am leaving it alone.
Steve B. is offline  
Likes For Steve B.:
Old 05-31-20, 08:01 AM
  #37  
TerryDi2C
Di2 fanatic
 
TerryDi2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by Steve B. View Post
See my post above. If you have the shop install the XT display, in place of the A Junction and wireless unit, not only do you save $85, but the display unit shows you what gears you are in, and that's actually more useful then you can imagine, but you also get a battery level display. Only downside is it takes up some space on the handlebar.

https://bike.shimano.com/en-US/produ.../SC-MT800.html
I think the SC-MT800 is OK. I have one on my road bike right now, bought that to help someone who had problems installing theirs.

What it does nicely is beep one gear before the front derailleur shifts automatically (full-synchro mode). It also beeps when you're at either end of the cassette, indicating that there is no more gears for you to shift .
The default "display time" of 5 seconds is a bit short - basically the display switches off after five seconds of 'inactivity', and only turns back on when you press a shifter button (or the button on the display). So while it does display the current gear, I never look at that because well.. the display is either always switched off or I have shifted less than 5 seconds ago

I do like the button - I find it easier to change shift mode on this than on my SM-EW90-A.
There is an EW-RS910 bar-end junction in the shed, I'll install that on my new frame next month.. This SC-MT800 will probably stay on the older / second bike, because I only have one EW-WU111. I do prefer the EW-WU111 on my main bike, it just looks a bit cleaner (if you hide it in either handlebars/frame - while not supported by Shimano it usually works just fine).

And yeah.. once you get past the EW-WU111 initial firmware update it should work just fine. Like others have said, just don't forget to "disconnect" the app .
There are units out there with updated firmware on them as far as I know, but also plenty with the original firmware.
TerryDi2C is offline  
Old 05-31-20, 09:18 AM
  #38  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 4,412

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1625 Post(s)
Liked 334 Times in 236 Posts
Originally Posted by TerryDi2C View Post
I
The default "display time" of 5 seconds is a bit short - basically the display switches off after five seconds of 'inactivity', and only turns back on when you press a shifter button (or the button on the display). So while it does display the current gear, I never look at that because well.. the display is either always switched off or I have shifted less than 5 seconds ago
Yes, noticed that about the time out. I’ll have to check to see if there’s an “always on” setting, that would be more useful as you want to know before the shift what cog you’re on. At least on a road bike maybe. I get this gear display on my Garmin, it’s really really useful.
Steve B. is offline  
Old 06-05-20, 12:02 PM
  #39  
Bryan C. 
nothing to see here
 
Bryan C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Antioch, CA
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked 101 Times in 54 Posts
I finally took the time to pair and set up my Di2 BT unit and my Garmin 530. I can't seem to figure out how to view or analyze the data after my ride. I can see the live display during the ride but does either Garmin or Strava record that data for viewing and analysis? I'm using the Garmin connect app and strava app for Android.

My google search results just pull up many other people asking the same question with no real answer either way. I thought someone here may be able to set me straight. Thanks.
Bryan C. is offline  
Old 06-05-20, 12:35 PM
  #40  
TerryDi2C
Di2 fanatic
 
TerryDi2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
They do record it in the .fit file (Garmin), but Strava don't do anything with it.
Wahoo displays shifting information in their ELEMNT app, but I don't think Garmin does.

However, you can upload the .fit file to either Di2stats.com or SRAM AXS Web (yes, it works with Di2).
TerryDi2C is offline  
Likes For TerryDi2C:
Old 06-05-20, 12:42 PM
  #41  
Bryan C. 
nothing to see here
 
Bryan C.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Antioch, CA
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked 101 Times in 54 Posts
Originally Posted by TerryDi2C View Post
They do record it in the .fit file (Garmin), but Strava don't do anything with it.
Wahoo displays shifting information in their ELEMNT app, but I don't think Garmin does.

However, you can upload the .fit file to either Di2stats.com or SRAM AXS Web (yes, it works with Di2).
Thanks Terry.
Bryan C. is offline  
Likes For Bryan C.:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.