Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Conflicting info Di2 Battery Light / Levels. Please clarify

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Conflicting info Di2 Battery Light / Levels. Please clarify

Old 08-21-19, 11:36 AM
  #1  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,330

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked 164 Times in 105 Posts
Conflicting info Di2 Battery Light / Levels. Please clarify

In my Googling around to understand what the battery level indicator lights are telling me on my Di2 system, one website is telling me this:

  • 100% remaining: Illuminates green (for 2 seconds)
  • 50% remaining: Flashes green (5 times)
  • 25% remaining: Illuminates red (for 2 seconds)
  • 0% remaining: Flashes red (5 times)

Another website is telling me this:

  • Red, flashing 5 times: less than 25%
  • Red for 2 seconds: 25% – 50%
  • Green, flashing 5 times: 50% – 75%
  • Green for two seconds: more than 75%

Anyone have any idea which one is correct? For example does the flashing red indicate 0% percent batter life remaining, or less than 25%?

Thanks.
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 08-21-19, 11:56 AM
  #2  
FlashBazbo
Chases Dogs for Sport
 
FlashBazbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 4,288

Bikes: OPEN new U.P. Di2

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked 135 Times in 89 Posts
Both are just approximations, but you know of course that flashing red cannot mean 0%. If it were 0%, the light would not illuminate at all.

I've been using Di2 for ten years. Here's how my experience tells me to take them . . .

Solid green - 75%+
Flashing green - 50% to 75%
Solid red - 15% to 50%
Flashing red - Less than that.

As a practical matter, I recharge when the green starts flashing. Even though I put about 8,000 miles per year on the bike, I still only have to charge the battery three or four times a year. Charging on flashing green means I never have to worry about it.
FlashBazbo is offline  
Old 08-21-19, 12:07 PM
  #3  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 21,209
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12040 Post(s)
Liked 3,389 Times in 1,891 Posts
I get about 600 to 700 miles to a charge.

I use my Garmin to get the approximate battery %.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 08-21-19, 12:33 PM
  #4  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,783

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6831 Post(s)
Liked 671 Times in 425 Posts
The lights represent a range.

Solid green is above 75% to 100% charged.
Flashing green is above 50% to 75% charged.
Solid red is above 25% to 50% charged.
Flashing red is above 0% to 25% charged.

The system cannot indicate 0% charge because at that point the battery is dead and unable to power anything.


-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 08-21-19, 02:21 PM
  #5  
cthenn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 2,481

Bikes: 2015 Trek Emonda SLR, 2002 Litespeed Classic, 2005 Bianchi Pista, 2016 Devinci Hatchet, Some BikesDirect MTB I never ride.

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 573 Post(s)
Liked 65 Times in 37 Posts
Like others have said, I wouldn't even really worry about it, because I'd never let it drop below the solid red level. That's when I recharge mine. Of course, if I was doing some huge ride, I might charge it up anyway, regardless of the level, just to be safe, but normally I run it to solid red, then recharge. I'm not sure if these batteries have a "memory" and need to be discharged as much as possible before recharging, but I figure the solid red indicator is close enough for me. Not worth having it die on the road.
cthenn is offline  
Old 08-21-19, 02:51 PM
  #6  
MidTNBrad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 275

Bikes: 2016 Cervelo R3 & 1999 Litespeed Tuscany

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked 39 Times in 26 Posts
I've always been curious as to what happens if you run out of battery so I did that earlier this year. On a ride this spring my Wahoo Bolt warned me that my Di2 batter was low, but I ignored it and went on a ride anyway. When the battery got to a certain point the front derailleur stopped working but the rear kept going. I was able to do another 15 miles home in that condition. I figured I pressed my luck as far as I wanted and charged the system from there. Haven't charged it since.
MidTNBrad is offline  
Old 08-21-19, 04:47 PM
  #7  
ridingfool
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Originally Posted by MidTNBrad View Post
I've always been curious as to what happens if you run out of battery so I did that earlier this year. On a ride this spring my Wahoo Bolt warned me that my Di2 batter was low, but I ignored it and went on a ride anyway. When the battery got to a certain point the front derailleur stopped working but the rear kept going. I was able to do another 15 miles home in that condition. I figured I pressed my luck as far as I wanted and charged the system from there. Haven't charged it since.
Front derailer uses more power that's why it cuts out leaving u some power to use the back and if your not to far from home. Can more usally get home fine. Also if I'm not mistaking the one time I did run low on power the front will give a few shifts but really slow so if u pay attention u will know what front ring to leave it in. Depending how hilly your ride is
ridingfool is offline  
Old 08-22-19, 01:14 PM
  #8  
FlashBazbo
Chases Dogs for Sport
 
FlashBazbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 4,288

Bikes: OPEN new U.P. Di2

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked 135 Times in 89 Posts
At low charge, the front derailleur automatically shifts to the small ring and stops functioning. At that point, you have approximately 50 miles of shifting available on the rear derailleur.
FlashBazbo is offline  
Old 08-26-19, 04:16 PM
  #9  
jmess
Senior Member
 
jmess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PDX
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Di2 MTB display is great.

Being red/green color challenged I always had problems with the Di2 battery status lights. I also had problems with the newer Shimano inline wireless unit leaving Bluetooth active and running the battery down. That is all in the past now. I have replaced my 3 port junction box with the Shimano SC-MT800 XT Di2 Digital Display Unit. It works perfectly and my Di2 battery lasts longer. The display comes on when you shift and you can configure how long it stays on. Universal Cycles has them for $89.99. There appears to be no difference between the XT version and the more expensive XTR display version other than the case.
jmess is offline  
Old 08-26-19, 09:16 PM
  #10  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,330

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked 164 Times in 105 Posts
@jmess wait. So the cables that were running in to the junction box now run in to the SC-MT800? Or does this gadget need the Bluetooth connectivity?
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 08-26-19, 10:27 PM
  #11  
jmess
Senior Member
 
jmess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PDX
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Right the SC-MT800 has 3 Di2 ports and can replace the junction box or be plugged into the Di2 network like a D-Fly is wired. The unit doesn’t connect to a bike computer. It does support Bluetooth for firmware updates.

Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post
@jmess wait. So the cables that were running in to the junction box now run in to the SC-MT800? Or does this gadget need the Bluetooth connectivity?
jmess is offline  
Old 08-27-19, 09:21 AM
  #12  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,330

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked 164 Times in 105 Posts
Wow. Good to know. Thank you!
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 08-27-19, 01:16 PM
  #13  
TerryDi2C
Di2 fanatic
 
TerryDi2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post
@jmess Or does this gadget need the Bluetooth connectivity?
The opposite - according to the Shimano e-tube compatibility charts this (or the SC-M9051) does not work when you use it together with the Wireless Unit ;-).

*4 The system accepts just 1 unit with wireless chip. (doesn't work if plural units with wireless chip are connected)
TerryDi2C is offline  
Old 08-27-19, 01:28 PM
  #14  
jmess
Senior Member
 
jmess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PDX
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I removed the wireless unit when I installed the display. My point was I don’t think you have to use the display as a junction box and could wire it inline like you connect the wireless unit.
jmess is offline  
Likes For jmess:
Old 08-27-19, 01:59 PM
  #15  
TerryDi2C
Di2 fanatic
 
TerryDi2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
aha, I see!
I'm not sure, but I would like to find out ;-)

The compatibility charts state:
One unit from this group: SC-M9050, SC-M9051, SC-MT800, EW-RS910, SM-EW90-A, SM-EW90-B
It doesn't say "max 1", so you could be right!
TerryDi2C is offline  
Old 08-28-19, 08:50 AM
  #16  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,330

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked 164 Times in 105 Posts
@TerryDi2C if you do find out, could you share your findings (with photos?) here? Also, your website is very informative. I took at look at the Di2 for dummies page. Well done

@jmess I like the idea of replacing the junction box with the SC-MT800. I'm just not sure how I would make it work on my bike. As I look at where the junction box is - under the steam - I don't know if I'd be able to switch it around.
NoWhammies is offline  
Likes For NoWhammies:
Old 08-28-19, 03:27 PM
  #17  
jmess
Senior Member
 
jmess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PDX
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
How I did it

My left Di2 shifter wire was too short to reach the display junction plugs without redoing my bartape. Since the bartape was fairly new I purchased a Di2 junction (female/female). I already had a short Di2 wire that I had used for the D-Fly unit. So with the extension I could replace the 3-port junction box.




Left Di2 shifter wire extension




Display mounted on bars
jmess is offline  
Old 08-28-19, 04:50 PM
  #18  
Sy Reene
Advocatus Diaboli
 
Sy Reene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Wherever I am
Posts: 5,950

Bikes: Merlin Cyrene, Nashbar steel CX

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2986 Post(s)
Liked 401 Times in 307 Posts
I think the giveaway is that you'd never have 100% more than for eg. an hour, or otherwise that solid green notification is kinda worthless.. the first website is wrong. What would you get if you had 85% remaining?
Sy Reene is offline  
Old 08-30-19, 09:34 AM
  #19  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,330

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked 164 Times in 105 Posts
Thanks for the photos @jmess.
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 08-30-19, 11:48 AM
  #20  
surak
Senior Member
 
surak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Seattle
Posts: 990

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix, Canyon Inflite AL SLX, Giant Contend SL Disc 2, Priority Continuum Onyx, Santana Vision, Kent Dual-Drive Tandem

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked 152 Times in 97 Posts
Didn't know about the display unit, that's pretty cool. FWIW, I have no issues with my EWU1111 wireless Bluetooth unit sending all the same information to my Garmin and Etube app. A lot easier than remembering the meaning of the lights on the junction box.
surak is offline  
Old 09-03-19, 01:53 PM
  #21  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,330

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked 164 Times in 105 Posts
@jmess when adding the SC-MT800 and swapping out the junction box, it just a matter of pulling the cables out of the box and putting them in the SC-MT800? Or does something need to be done?
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 09-03-19, 02:29 PM
  #22  
jmess
Senior Member
 
jmess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PDX
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Nothing special, just move the cables from junction box to the display. You might want to do a firmware update at some point. The firmware update for the display hung the first time I did it using the E-Tube phone app. I had to disconnect and reconnect my internal seatpost battery from the system to clear it up. The Di2 controller resides in the battery module so disconnecting it is like a reboot. I would use the PC app connected via the battery charge wire for the initial firmware update if you have it. This should eliminate any Bluetooth version issues/bugs between what the SC display shipped with (year old?) and your phone.

Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post
@jmess when adding the SC-MT800 and swapping out the junction box, it just a matter of pulling the cables out of the box and putting them in the SC-MT800? Or does something need to be done?

Last edited by jmess; 09-03-19 at 02:49 PM.
jmess is offline  
Old 09-04-19, 02:10 PM
  #23  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,330

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 572 Post(s)
Liked 164 Times in 105 Posts
@jmess does the unit stay 'on' all the time? Or does the display only activate when the bike is in use?
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 09-04-19, 02:17 PM
  #24  
eduskator
Senior Member
 
eduskator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 723

Bikes: TCR Advanced Pro 0 Disc

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked 155 Times in 121 Posts
Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post
In my Googling around to understand what the battery level indicator lights are telling me on my Di2 system, one website is telling me this:


  • 100% remaining: Illuminates green (for 2 seconds)
  • 50% remaining: Flashes green (5 times)
  • 25% remaining: Illuminates red (for 2 seconds)
  • 0% remaining: Flashes red (5 times)

Another website is telling me this:




  • Red, flashing 5 times: less than 25%
  • Red for 2 seconds: 25% – 50%
  • Green, flashing 5 times: 50% – 75%
  • Green for two seconds: more than 75%

Anyone have any idea which one is correct? For example does the flashing red indicate 0% percent batter life remaining, or less than 25%?

Thanks.



Mine stays on green when it's full. It flashes green when it's above 50%. Rely on your owner's manual or Shimano's website information.
eduskator is offline  
Old 09-04-19, 03:51 PM
  #25  
jmess
Senior Member
 
jmess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PDX
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
The display comes on when you shift. The time it remains on is configurable with the E-Tube project software. I don’t recall what the max time is, I have mine set for 1 minute. Here is the manual but it doesn’t mention the display time adjustment.

SC-MT800 manual

Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post
@jmess does the unit stay 'on' all the time? Or does the display only activate when the bike is in use?
jmess is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.