Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Di2

Old 11-23-19, 03:09 PM
  #1  
blamester
Blamester
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 682

Bikes: Peugeot teamline

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked 37 Times in 33 Posts
Di2

Hi all
I am thinking of going with electronic shifting for the rear.
I would like to use the brakes and levers I already have.
So my question is can I use shift buttons only to control the derailleur and not install or buy the sti units.
Do I just need the buttons, junction box, associated cables and batterys.
Cheers
blamester is online now  
Old 11-23-19, 05:19 PM
  #2  
cb400bill
Inoxidable Moderator
 
cb400bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 18,009

Bikes: Fuji SL 2.1, Cannondale Synapse, Raleigh C50, Trek 710, Raleigh Granada, Legnano Pista, Viscount Aerospace Pro

Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1900 Post(s)
Liked 1,229 Times in 765 Posts
I'm not sure how well that will work. Di2 automatically trims the front derailleur when you shift the rear derailleur.
cb400bill is offline  
Old 11-23-19, 05:53 PM
  #3  
blamester
Blamester
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 682

Bikes: Peugeot teamline

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked 37 Times in 33 Posts
Originally Posted by cb400bill View Post
I'm not sure how well that will work. Di2 automatically trims the front derailleur when you shift the rear derailleur.
I don't really mind about the fd.
I friction shift the front now anyway and can live without di2 for the front.
I am really only want to shift the rear with buttons alone.
Cheers
blamester is online now  
Old 11-23-19, 07:47 PM
  #4  
randallr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 327

Bikes: 2017 Gunnar CrossHairs Rohloff

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 23 Posts
It's a package deal. You need the shifters as well as the derailleur. Lots of reasons.
randallr is offline  
Likes For randallr:
Old 11-23-19, 07:57 PM
  #5  
blamester
Blamester
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 682

Bikes: Peugeot teamline

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked 37 Times in 33 Posts
Originally Posted by randallr View Post
It's a package deal. You need the shifters as well as the derailleur. Lots of reasons.
Damn. Ah well I shall have to do without it.
Cheers
blamester is online now  
Old 11-23-19, 10:54 PM
  #6  
veganbikes
Clark W. Griswold
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: ,location, location
Posts: 6,127

Bikes: Foundry Chilkoot Ti W/Ultegra Di2, Salsa Timberjack Ti, Cinelli Mash Work RandoCross Fun Time Machine, 1x9 XT Parts Hybrid, Co-Motion Cascadia, Specialized Langster, Pink Klein MTB, Phil Wood VeloXS Frame (w/DA 7400), Cilo Road Frame, Proteus frame

Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1491 Post(s)
Liked 303 Times in 221 Posts
So actually you could potentially build a Di2 bike without using the STI levers and with a different front derailleur but honestly why? The Di2 STI levers feel fantastic and the ability to have brake levers again is fantastic. Unfortunately with the Shimano system they use the brake lever to shift as well and that doesn't jive with me.

I would rather just do the complete system rather than bodging around with some really odd set up unless you happened to be a special needs case like missing limbs or something. I get you are attempting to save a little money but honestly it isn't worth it. If you really wanted it just do the whole gruppo and keep in mind mountain and road Di2 derailleurs are not compatible as far as I know, yet. You can use mountain derailleurs with road shifters you just can't mix derailleurs.
veganbikes is offline  
Old 11-24-19, 08:47 AM
  #7  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 4,412

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1625 Post(s)
Liked 334 Times in 236 Posts
Originally Posted by cb400bill View Post
I'm not sure how well that will work. Di2 automatically trims the front derailleur when you shift the rear derailleur.
Well, the system sends a signal to the (non-existent) front derailer to trim. Doubt thereís any feedback loop telling the system the derailer did nothing.

Iím thinking the OP could get away with this as itís essentially a system used in Tri bikes, that do not use brake/shift levers, only 2-3 buttons.
Steve B. is offline  
Old 11-24-19, 01:59 PM
  #8  
TerryDi2C
Di2 fanatic
 
TerryDi2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
At the very least you will need:
  • one derailleur
  • one junction A
  • a couple of EW-SD50 electric wires (max length 1400mm for a road bike/mtb)
  • some kind of shifter (EXCEPT SW-R610, this will only work if you plug it into a port on an STI)
  • a battery
I agree with veganbikes though,.. I too would rather build a complete bike and use the Di2 STI levers.

Last edited by TerryDi2C; 11-24-19 at 01:59 PM. Reason: tweaks
TerryDi2C is offline  
Likes For TerryDi2C:
Old 11-24-19, 05:36 PM
  #9  
blamester
Blamester
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 682

Bikes: Peugeot teamline

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked 37 Times in 33 Posts
Originally Posted by TerryDi2C View Post
At the very least you will need:
  • one derailleur
  • one junction A
  • a couple of EW-SD50 electric wires (max length 1400mm for a road bike/mtb)
  • some kind of shifter (EXCEPT SW-R610, this will only work if you plug it into a port on an STI)
  • a battery
I agree with veganbikes though,.. I too would rather build a complete bike and use the Di2 STI levers.
Thanks I will have a look at this and see if it suits.
blamester is online now  
Old 11-24-19, 05:58 PM
  #10  
sch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Mountain Brook. AL
Posts: 3,753
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 48 Times in 40 Posts
I used an SW 600 remote shifter ( https://www.amazon.com/SHIMANO-SW-R6.../dp/B07CSKJNV2 )
with an indicating junction A (ie it reads out the cog position of both or either the FD and RD and gives state of battery charge)
along with the cables, a battery and a 6770 RD on my long wheel base recumbent without any problems. So yes the OP CAN
get by without brifters. FWIW the SW 600 works with 6870 and 8070 series Di2 RD as well, it is not just for 10spd RD. As best
I can tell, the SW 600 is for RD only, ie it doesn't have the codes for FD shifting but "may" be reprogrammable with Shimano
software. But as supplied it replaces the right brifter as the controlling device for the RD.

Last edited by sch; 11-25-19 at 10:11 PM.
sch is offline  
Old 11-24-19, 09:07 PM
  #11  
wsteve464
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked 66 Times in 58 Posts
You don't need brifter shifters if you use the SW-600, I have a bike set up that way. You need the latest battery, the charge unit a couple of wires and junction box and DR. You will also need a Windows computer to set up the shifting if you use a front and rear derailleur, as of a couple months ago Shimano had not fixed their apple app, check their web site
wsteve464 is offline  
Old 11-25-19, 12:53 AM
  #12  
blamester
Blamester
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ireland
Posts: 682

Bikes: Peugeot teamline

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked 37 Times in 33 Posts
Thanks to everybody
I am getting closer to a solution.
blamester is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.