Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Garmin Edge 1000 - Bike Profiles

Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Garmin Edge 1000 - Bike Profiles

Old 05-27-20, 09:45 PM
  #1  
KC8QVO
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 694

Bikes: Surly Disk Trucker, 2014 w/Brooks Flyer Special saddle, Tubus racks - Duo front/Logo Evo rear, 2019 Dahon Mariner D8, Both bikes share Ortlieb Packer Plus series panniers, Garmin Edge 1000

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked 27 Times in 24 Posts
Garmin Edge 1000 - Bike Profiles

I am pretty sure I know the answer to this but I want to see if anyone has figured out a way to do it/a work-around.

Is there a way to set 2 different bike profiles up that use the same sensors (cadence/speed)?

When I move my computer between bikes the sensors go with the computer. I don't have 2 sets of sensors.

It appears the set up for the speed cal is in the sensor registration with the device.

One bike is a 700c and the other is a 20". So they obviously have very different cals. What I am after is an option to input the settings in a "profile" then pick the profile in the menu - just like I can do with the ride profiles and data screens.

The way I am doing it now is I have to sync the wheel speed sensor (IE - move the bike to turn it on when the computer is on so it syncs with the computer), then go in to the settings for the sensor, delete the wheel cal, then enter the new wheel cal. Just trying to eliminate the juggling..
KC8QVO is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 02:02 PM
  #2  
Steve B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South shore, L.I., NY
Posts: 4,402

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1623 Post(s)
Liked 331 Times in 235 Posts
I think the sensors are profile agnostic (they are on the 1030, can't recall on the 1000). The device sees whether there's a sensor active or not and uses whatever is active. I would set the sensor to Automatic so it's not using a measurement calibration and instead will do the roll out automatic calibration each time it gets going.

Or why not just but another sensor ", PITA to move it.
Steve B. is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 02:14 PM
  #3  
njkayaker
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 11,653
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2189 Post(s)
Liked 201 Times in 144 Posts
The newer Garmins (including the 1000) put all the sensors in a pool shared across profiles.

https://support.garmin.com/en-US/?fa...Bd2K8sggJk4L56

Buy a cheap speed sensor.

I suspect not many people move sensors between bicycles.
njkayaker is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 02:42 PM
  #4  
billridesbikes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked 92 Times in 53 Posts
I would use “Automatically detect wheel size” option and get on with life.
billridesbikes is offline  
Old 05-28-20, 06:38 PM
  #5  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 21,209
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12035 Post(s)
Liked 3,376 Times in 1,885 Posts
I have a speed sensor that came from Amazon for about $20. It was a pain to get onto the hub and I wouldn't want to go through that regularly. I think it's pretty rare among cyclists to move sensors from bike to bike, and these things are programmed for common scenarios to make the most customers happy.
Seattle Forrest is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.