Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

The Fuji del Rey

Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

The Fuji del Rey

Old 02-21-20, 09:45 AM
eeuuugh

Bikes: Aerotek 4000, Huffy Nel Lusso, Fuji Del Rey

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked 18 Times in 12 Posts
The Fuji del Rey

Last month my Aerotek M4000 was stolen outside the local library. I had leaned it against the bike rack while I went inside to grab a book, figuring it would be fine... within two minutes a teenager grabbed it and rode off with it. My fault, which only makes it worse.

Until it was gone I didn't realize how important that bike was to me. Besides being my main form of transportation, I've been replacing and upgrading parts on it for five years with things scrounged from co-ops and flipped bikes all over the country, and many of the components were essentially irreplaceable even if I had an unlimited budget (SunTour command shifters, XTR rapid-rise rear mech, anodized purple chainring bolts and brake bits, out of production Daija stainless touring rack, the list goes on.) I spent a very depressed week riding my cruiser to work, and the next weekend began working on a new bike to ease my pain.

A year or two ago a friend found a Fuji del Rey in a thrift store for $15. They'd been looking for something lighter and faster than their current bike, but the del Rey ended up being too short. Just my size though, and I had issued them an IOU for a light, fast, tall build someday, and called dibs on the del Rey. Since then it had sat in their shed collecting cobwebs.