Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Schwinn S1 for commuting/grocery bike

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-20, 10:11 AM
ciclista_pazza

Bikes: 2018 Fuji Absolute, Yokota mountain bike (199?), 1979 Schwinn Le Tour Mixte

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked 34 Times in 27 Posts

I'm moving to a new apartment in August that doesn't allow bikes inside. My bike is my sole form of transportation and I've been biking steadily for about 12 years so this is painful for me but I have to accept it since it's such a great apartment. I currently have a Fuji Absolute hybrid that I like pretty well but am really worried about it getting stolen even if locked up with 2 good locks outside. I'm thinking of selling the Fuji and getting a cheap bike that hopefully would be less likely to get stolen. I've seen some beach cruisers on Craigslist and it got me thinking that it might be nice to change to a cruiser. I have a lot of body pain and it would be nice to have a more relaxed style of riding. I've never worried too much about going super fast so that's not a huge concern.

Since I don't have a car, I use my bike for everything including commuting to work and going to various stores and carrying heavy panniers on my rear rack. I'm thinking of getting a Schwinn S! that I saw advertised - pictured below:

Here are my questions:
1. Could this Schwinn take a rear rack? It looks like there are eyelets for it near the chainstays but I can't tell for sure. Would this Axiom rack work on it or would I need to get a Schwinn specific rack? https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
2. Would this style of bike have any trouble hauling semi heavy panniers?