Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Paint/corrosion problems?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-20, 05:49 PM
bikobkio

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hi all, I'm looking at potentially buying this bike and have noticed some issues with the paint on the headtube, chainstay and seatstay. I'm no expert, so I'd appreciate some advice on what is going on, whether there could be corrosion or other issues underneath (maybe hard to tell from the seller's pictures but they're all I've got for now) or if it's nothing to worry about.

New to the forum so not sure how to link to pictures without breaking any rules, and not very good with tech... I've got them on a folder in my Google drive ready to go though!
Old 06-24-20, 02:08 AM
krecik

Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 54 Posts

Last edited by krecik; 01-14-21 at 09:37 AM.
Old 06-24-20, 05:11 AM
dedhed
SE Wis

Bikes: '68 Raleigh Sprite, '02 Raleigh C500, '84 Raleigh Gran Prix, '91 Trek 400, 2013 Novara Randonee, 1990 Trek 970

Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Quoted: 2746 Post(s)
Liked 3,393 Times in 2,056 Posts
Originally Posted by krecik
Nothing to worry about. The steel tubes on a frame are pretty thick, good to ride for 50 years. But then again it depends on the bike. If it's one of those cheap highstreet mtbs for kids or similar, likelyhood is they are made with the cheapest chinese steel, those bikes rust through and through fast.

I ride a 90's mtb, I found it abandonned. It has lots of rust spots and judging by the tyres, has been standing out in the rain for at least a decade. But it was made of good steel and the rust hasn't propagated beyond the surface.