Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Riding with Clipless

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Riding with Clipless

Old 06-16-19, 07:23 PM
dcteague

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Riding with Clipless

Wow, just started with a set of clipless (Shimano 105's with Fizik R4 shoes) - I've never used clipless before and I'm amazed at the difference. I'm shocked at how much less energy it requires to ride, especially hills. I am sure there's a best way to leverage the full cycle of the pedal stroke but for now I'll just keep practicing until I take my first spill - as I know it will happen at some point.

Are there any guides on how to best to transition and not do anything wrong that trains your body to use them the wrong way?
Old 06-16-19, 07:33 PM
JanMM
rebmeM roineS

Bikes: Bacchetta Giro A20, RANS V-Rex, RANS Screamer

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 653 Post(s)
Liked 347 Times in 226 Posts
Self-fulfilling prophecy: Believing that you will fall over because you are using clipless pedals can increase the chances of your falling over. I've never fallen over related to toe clips or clipless pedals. (Knock on wood.) Riding SPD style clipless for 20+ years.
I keep the release adjustment fairly loose so that it is always easy to unclip. If you wait till the last second to unclip, either on purpose or otherwise, you want it to be effortless. A little cleaning and lube once in a while can keep the mechanism in good shape.
Old 06-16-19, 09:51 PM
allout1

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well, what kind of pedals do you have?