Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

New Raleigh or Used Trek?

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Old 07-14-19, 09:34 AM
rachel35

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Looking to buy my first bike as an adult. I'm trying to spend around $300. I plan to ride on the weekends--paved paths, maybe 5-8 miles. While I don't want to get the best of the best since I'm just starting out, I do want to be cognizant of getting something that is quality if I can. Right now I'm looking at Raleigh bikes. I signed up with a corporate account and see that I can get the 2018 Eva 2 for $260, current Eva 2 for $311, or 2018 Alysa 1 for $269. I'm also looking at a used 2018 Trek FX 2 for $325 on Facebook marketplace. The bike was purchased 8 months ago and has only been used about 5 times. Looks brand new. How do the Raleigh bikes compare to Trek? I'm leaning towards Raleigh because it would be a brand-new bike and I don't have to go to a stranger's house with $325 cash. Would you recommend a different Raleigh bike?
Old 07-14-19, 09:43 AM
Bigbus
Very Senior Member

Bikes: Giant Quasar & Fuji Roubaix

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked 343 Times in 244 Posts
Hands down I like the Eva 2, if only it had disk brakes. But even so, the trek is over priced according to average retail in excel condition it should be under 300. I like the front suspension vs non-susp but again, that's just me. Good luck.
Old 07-14-19, 10:26 AM
VegasTriker

Bikes: Catrike 700, Greenspeed GTO trike, , Linear LWB recumbent, Haluzak Horizon SWB recumbent, Balance 450 MTB, Cannondale SM800 Beast of the East

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked 227 Times in 179 Posts