Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Di2 with WiFi anyone?

Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Di2 with WiFi anyone?

Old 09-29-18, 06:55 PM
  #1  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 878

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked 44 Times in 31 Posts
Di2 with WiFi anyone?

I have Di2 on my bike and love it. Not looking to start a debate between electronic shifting vs. traditional shifting.

What I am curious about though is, out of those of you who have the Di2 shifting, how many of you have the WiFi module attached to the battery? And is it worth the added cost? And does it drain the battery quicker?

I presently don't have the WiFi module on my bike. I don't (think I) need to go in and modify the shifting through the Shimano app at all. And while I don't have the gearing showing up on my Garmin, I never had the before with regular cable shifting. So I don't see the need to have it now. Although it would be nice to have.

Anyway. Just thought I'd ask.
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 09-29-18, 07:02 PM
  #2  
Dopefish905
Senior Member
 
Dopefish905's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 151

Bikes: Cervelo S2

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It’s pretty gimmicky if you ask me..if I really really really need to change something I’ll just get my shop to do it, you shouldn’t be changing stuff that often or any to justify etube attachment, that’s just me though, im no techno toy geek, just a functional gets the job done kinda guy. Love di2 though
Dopefish905 is offline  
Old 09-29-18, 07:20 PM
  #3  
Marcus_Ti 
Frozen Solid.
 
Marcus_Ti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 4,716

Bikes: Roadie: Seven Axiom Race Ti w/Chorus 11s. CX/Adventure: Carver Gravel Grinder w/ Di2

Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1950 Post(s)
Liked 72 Times in 51 Posts
It isn't wifi, it is bluetooth. Have it on my gravel rig. Adds some nice touches, Garmin control, shifting readout on Wahoo/Edge, as well as firmware customization of Di2 via phone. Doesn't really use that much battery.
Marcus_Ti is offline  
Old 09-29-18, 08:10 PM
  #4  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 19,307
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8236 Post(s)
Liked 338 Times in 203 Posts
I like having it. My watch tells me how much battery is left, and can update the firmware. It also tells me how many times I shifted. I shift a hell of a lot more often now than when I first got Di2, which makes me feel like the whole electronic shifting thing wew a good move for me.

Is any of that necessary? Of course not. Is it worth it? Depends how much they money means to you.
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 09-29-18, 08:53 PM
  #5  
GeneO
Senior Member
 
GeneO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,133

Bikes: 2018 Roubaix Expert Di2, 2016 Diverge Expert X1, Felt 2012 F55X

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have it, doesn't drain the battery noticeably. I have the 8050 group so I can use the hood buttons to page through my Garmin pages. Worth it just for that in addition to the already mentioned benefits.
GeneO is offline  
Old 09-29-18, 09:46 PM
  #6  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
 
TimothyH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,510

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 227 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6649 Post(s)
Liked 529 Times in 335 Posts
The bluetooth module has been sitting inside my bike for 1.5 years and I haven't used it once.


-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 09-29-18, 09:58 PM
  #7  
wgscott
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: The Timbers of Fennario (CL77)
Posts: 4,916

Bikes: Steel

Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2366 Post(s)
Liked 225 Times in 141 Posts
Originally Posted by TimothyH View Post
The bluetooth module has been sitting inside my bike for 1.5 years and I haven't used it once.


-Tim-
You have to use it at least once. I even updated my firmware once, just to see what it would be like.
wgscott is offline  
Old 09-29-18, 10:07 PM
  #8  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 878

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked 44 Times in 31 Posts
Yeah, see that's where I can it being useful - the firmware updates. I haven't done any firmware updating since purchasing my bike earlier this summer. I am just hoping/assuming that there have been no updates.

And yeah, perhaps it would be interesting to see what my gearing is like on my bike. Although I don't have the 8050 groupo so I wouldn't be able to change the screens on my Garmin from the shifters.
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 09-29-18, 10:07 PM
  #9  
noodle soup
Senior Member
 
noodle soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,395
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3044 Post(s)
Liked 201 Times in 131 Posts
Originally Posted by wgscott View Post
You have to use it at least once.
No, he doesn't.
noodle soup is offline  
Old 09-29-18, 10:12 PM
  #10  
noodle soup
Senior Member
 
noodle soup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6,395
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3044 Post(s)
Liked 201 Times in 131 Posts
Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post
Yeah, see that's where I can it being useful - the firmware updates. I haven't done any firmware updating since purchasing my bike earlier this summer. I am just hoping/assuming that there have been no updates.
You don't need it to do the firmware updates.
noodle soup is offline  
Old 09-29-18, 10:54 PM
  #11  
wgscott
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: The Timbers of Fennario (CL77)
Posts: 4,916

Bikes: Steel

Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2366 Post(s)
Liked 225 Times in 141 Posts
Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post
Yeah, see that's where I can it being useful - the firmware updates.
It is the one thing they recommend not doing using the wireless interface, as it has a tendency to brick the system.
wgscott is offline  
Old 09-30-18, 08:35 AM
  #12  
metalheart44
Senior Member
 
metalheart44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sierra Foothills, NorCal
Posts: 669

Bikes: Holland Exogrid & Holland HC

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ditto on using wifi to update firmware: I tried to use a wifi connection to update firmware and it bricked my system and had to use the hardwire connection to get things working again. However, I find the wireless (bluetooth) unit very useful. I pay considerable attention to gearing while riding and having that information displayed my computer is especially useful for me. I recently rented a bike while on a bike vacation and I found that looking down and guessing about the rear cog positioning was much less satisfying and more distracting than just glancing at my computer. Next to heart rate, it is the information I use the most while riding.
metalheart44 is offline  
Old 09-30-18, 02:48 PM
  #13  
waters60
Senior Member
 
waters60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I love having gearing show up on my Wahoo Bolt. It was also handy to be notified that I needed to charge Di2.
waters60 is offline  
Old 09-30-18, 04:29 PM
  #14  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
 
TimothyH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,510

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 227 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6649 Post(s)
Liked 529 Times in 335 Posts
Originally Posted by wgscott View Post
You have to use it at least once. I even updated my firmware once, just to see what it would be like.
Well, the fact that I've never used it proves to me that it doesn't have to be used.

I've updated the firmware via USB once and connected to the system several times via USB for one reason or another.

I've installed the App on my iPhone and connected to the WU exactly once and then only looked at the screens in the app. IIRC, the only reason I connected to the WU was because someone was discussing it here on Bikeforums and I was interested in what they were talking about.

A wireless unit is not required for the system to operate. I wish I had saved the $80.


-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 09-30-18, 04:38 PM
  #15  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 878

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 370 Post(s)
Liked 44 Times in 31 Posts
The funny thing is, I didn't realize at the time it was an add-on. So when I picked up my bike I asked them how I go about connecting to the Bluetooth. That's when I found out that because I didn't ask for the option when I had the Di2 installed, and it would be a pain in the ass to add it now (since the battery is in the seat post) I just let sleeping dogs lie. But I can't help but think/wonder if it would have been worth it.

BTW, how often do firmware updates come out? I haven't connecting my Di2 to anything since purchasing my bike earlier this summer.
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 09-30-18, 05:05 PM
  #16  
wgscott
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: The Timbers of Fennario (CL77)
Posts: 4,916

Bikes: Steel

Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2366 Post(s)
Liked 225 Times in 141 Posts
Originally Posted by TimothyH View Post
Well, the fact that I've never used it proves to me that it doesn't have to be used.
I used "have to" as in "you really ought to" give it a try.

(I don't have it, so I know it isn't a requirement. I also don't feel any need to have it, but if there is a button, I will press it just to see how it works.)
wgscott is offline  
Old 09-30-18, 05:24 PM
  #17  
Marcus_Ti 
Frozen Solid.
 
Marcus_Ti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 4,716

Bikes: Roadie: Seven Axiom Race Ti w/Chorus 11s. CX/Adventure: Carver Gravel Grinder w/ Di2

Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1950 Post(s)
Liked 72 Times in 51 Posts
Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post
The funny thing is, I didn't realize at the time it was an add-on. So when I picked up my bike I asked them how I go about connecting to the Bluetooth. That's when I found out that because I didn't ask for the option when I had the Di2 installed, and it would be a pain in the ass to add it now (since the battery is in the seat post) I just let sleeping dogs lie. But I can't help but think/wonder if it would have been worth it.

BTW, how often do firmware updates come out? I haven't connecting my Di2 to anything since purchasing my bike earlier this summer.
No it really wouldn.t AAMOF, splicing it in before the battery is probably the cleanest and easiest route. All you need is the module, a short Di2 cable; remove seatpost, unplug battery, plug in wireless module, plug in seacond cable from the wireless to the battery and then re-insert seatpost. Takes longer to type than to do.
Marcus_Ti is offline  
Old 09-30-18, 06:11 PM
  #18  
JohnJ80
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,996

Bikes: N+1=5

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Originally Posted by Seattle Forrest View Post
I like having it. My watch tells me how much battery is left, and can update the firmware. It also tells me how many times I shifted. I shift a hell of a lot more often now than when I first got Di2, which makes me feel like the whole electronic shifting thing wew a good move for me.

Is any of that necessary? Of course not. Is it worth it? Depends how much they money means to you.
My experience too. I really like it. Everyone I know who has it sweated the price and but now won't go back.

Last season I converted my mech cross/adventure bike over to electronic using the eTap (no wires, no wire ports on the frame). I'm almost beginning to think I like that better. Either way, I'm probably done with mech to the extent I can be.

I like the BT connection too.

J.
JohnJ80 is offline  
Old 10-01-18, 06:15 AM
  #19  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
 
TimothyH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,510

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 227 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6649 Post(s)
Liked 529 Times in 335 Posts
Originally Posted by wgscott View Post
I used "have to" as in "you really ought to" give it a try.

(I don't have it, so I know it isn't a requirement. I also don't feel any need to have it, but if there is a button, I will press it just to see how it works.)
Oh. Ha ha. I should have known better.
TimothyH is offline  
Old 10-01-18, 07:58 AM
  #20  
69chevy
wears long socks
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,602
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 494 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Originally Posted by metalheart44 View Post
Ditto on using wifi to update firmware: I tried to use a wifi connection to update firmware and it bricked my system and had to use the hardwire connection to get things working again. However, I find the wireless (bluetooth) unit very useful. I pay considerable attention to gearing while riding and having that information displayed my computer is especially useful for me. I recently rented a bike while on a bike vacation and I found that looking down and guessing about the rear cog positioning was much less satisfying and more distracting than just glancing at my computer. Next to heart rate, it is the information I use the most while riding.
I literally only know what gear i'm in when I try to shift up or down and nothing happens.

It's crazy how different we all are.
69chevy is offline  
Old 10-01-18, 09:32 AM
  #21  
FlashBazbo
Chases Dogs for Sport
 
FlashBazbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 4,046

Bikes: BMC SLR01 TeamMachine Disk Di2; OPEN new U.P. Di2

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 822 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 15 Posts
I have the Bluetooth module and I use it a lot on every ride -- primarily to switch pages on my Garmin using the hood buttons. On my road bike, it's hidden inside the head tube but, on my gravel bike, it's plugged direct to the junction box and shrink wrapped to the rear brake line before the brake line and the Di2 wire enter the frame.

I prefer using the hard-wired PC-based software to update firmware and to modify shift parameters, etc. Depending on the vintage of your system, the Bluetooth software updates can (as has been said before) lock the system and make it appear that the battery instantly lost all power. (It didn't.) Then, you need the hard-wired system to get everything running again. It's easier just to go with the PC system from the beginning.
FlashBazbo is offline  
Old 10-01-18, 09:33 AM
  #22  
FlashBazbo
Chases Dogs for Sport
 
FlashBazbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 4,046

Bikes: BMC SLR01 TeamMachine Disk Di2; OPEN new U.P. Di2

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 822 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 15 Posts
Originally Posted by 69chevy View Post
I literally only know what gear i'm in when I try to shift up or down and nothing happens.

It's crazy how different we all are.
Do you not have Di2? Di2 makes a beep when you get to the end so that you don't have to shift to know which way is up.
FlashBazbo is offline  
Old 10-01-18, 09:37 AM
  #23  
Marcus_Ti 
Frozen Solid.
 
Marcus_Ti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 4,716

Bikes: Roadie: Seven Axiom Race Ti w/Chorus 11s. CX/Adventure: Carver Gravel Grinder w/ Di2

Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1950 Post(s)
Liked 72 Times in 51 Posts
Originally Posted by FlashBazbo View Post
Do you not have Di2? Di2 makes a beep when you get to the end so that you don't have to shift to know which way is up.
This is only the case with Garmin head units paired to Di2. The Garmin is what makes the beep
Marcus_Ti is offline  
Old 10-01-18, 09:39 AM
  #24  
FlashBazbo
Chases Dogs for Sport
 
FlashBazbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 4,046

Bikes: BMC SLR01 TeamMachine Disk Di2; OPEN new U.P. Di2

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 822 Post(s)
Liked 20 Times in 15 Posts
Originally Posted by Marcus_Ti View Post
This is only the case with Garmin head units paired to Di2. The Garmin is what makes the beep
Which, I would guess, means you've also got to have the Bluetooth module in order to let the Garmin know when to beep. Otherwise, it would be clueless.
FlashBazbo is offline  
Old 10-01-18, 10:00 AM
  #25  
colnago62
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
I like to know what gear I am in when I run a 11-32 cassette. It keeps me from going big/big inadvertently. I have 9000 and while it works it not a situation you want.
colnago62 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.