Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

Rear rack for Giant Escape 2

Search
Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-18, 09:37 AM
mikerp

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello, everybody.

I am new to cycling, recently purchased a Giant Escape 2 (2018, in case that matters). Very happy with it, though of course I have no real point of comparison.

Anyway, I'm trying to find a rear rack that will fit the bike. I purchased an Ibera rack from Amazon*, kind of just assuming that racks are a standard width and would generally fit most bikes. Unfortunately it's too narrow. That is, the distance between the two bottom connection points is about 5 and 1/4 inches. (On the Amazon description page, it says it's 6 inches. So I guess there's some considerable variation in manufacturing here.) On my bike though, the dropout eyelets are roughly 7" apart from each other. I might be able to force it, but I worry that I'd break the rack or at least weaken it, so that it'd be more likely to break with an actual load. Also, if I force it, the legs would not be sitting flush with the eyelets, because they'd be coming down at an angle.

Anybody have suggestions on what to do here? Or suggestions of a rack that you know is a bit wider and likely to fit a Giant Escape?

*I'm too new here to post links. The product name on Amazon is "Ibera Bike Rack – Bicycle Touring Carrier with Fender Board, Frame-Mounted for Heavier Top & Side Loads, Height Adjustable for 26"-29" Frames." Product ASIN is B00DWKUAZK.

Last edited by mikerp; 11-13-18 at 09:42 AM.
Old 11-13-18, 03:42 PM
mikerp

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Update: I forced it. A few enthusiastic by-hand stretching sessions was enough. Then I used an adjustable wrench to bend the ends of the legs back inward somewhat so that they'd sit closer to flush with the eyelets.