Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Possible to Adjust brake levers?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-17, 06:08 AM
toastayy

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to roadbiking (haven't ridden in about 12 year)and recently purchased a cheap motebecane fixie record from bikes direct.

It comes with drop handlebars and I've noticed that it's a slightly too hard for me to reach the levers when in the drops. My question is are these the type of levers that can be adjusted closer to the bars or do I need new brakes?

The levers from their website are XL-95 ALLOY BLACK LEVER W/ALLOY CLAMP, F&R if that means anything to anyone.

2nd Q: Thinking of switching from the drops to bullhorn handlebars because I find the drops uncomfortable..actually i find the entire bar uncomfortable together. I think my reach is not long enough or i'm might not be comfortable enough since I just started riding, and never had drop bars before. Do you guys think bullhorns would help with my situation or should I just stick it out with the drops until I become more comfortable?
Old 08-12-17, 06:52 AM
davidallenxyz

Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm afraid I don't know those brakes, you might find that there is a screw fitting up around the pivot area that allows you to adjust the reach to the brakes.

Regarding the bullhorns, it looks like those brakes already give you the "hoods" position which is a lot like a bullhorn position anyway. When you are on the hoods, you should be able to reach the lever with a couple of fingers and brake from there: