Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

I make newbie mistakes - advice?

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-10, 05:57 AM
kayzee

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm fairly new to this whole road biking thing. In fact, I did my first organized ride this weekend. It was a pretty long one--180 miles in two days--and I've been training for it fairly intensely this summer, but I'd never really ridden with anyone else before.

When training, I always kept my bike on the lowest gear, on the theory that I've always been more of a "muscle" girl than a "cardio" girl and it would make me go faster. Some of the people I ended up riding with last weekend, though, noticed what I was doing, and told me it was... well, crazy, that I was needlessly exhausting myself, etc. Over the course of the two days they seemed to be going steadier (and ultimately faster) than I was, so I want to adjust what I'm doing before my next big ride.

So, my question is... what gear should I be using as my baseline? (My road bike is a 24-speed, if that helps.) I know it's an individual thing, to a large extent; I'm just trying to figure out a good place to start.

Last edited by kayzee; 08-29-10 at 06:00 AM.
Old 08-29-10, 06:09 AM
10 Wheels
Galveston County Texas

Bikes: 02 GTO, 2011 Magnum

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Quoted: 1349 Post(s)
Liked 1,243 Times in 621 Posts
What bike do you ride?

Old 08-29-10, 06:10 AM
gsteinb
out walking the earth

Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 912 Post(s)
Liked 752 Times in 342 Posts