Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Brake Hood Covers for an 80s Fuji

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-24, 12:11 PM
jemaleddin
New but Nice

Bikes: Specialized Sirrus 3.0, 1981 Fuji S12-S Mixte

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked 25 Times in 16 Posts

[I tried posting a version of this earlier, but I’m a newbie and I included links to helpful photos, so the whole thing seems to have been eaten by the machine. Hope it doesn’t show up subsequently.]

Howdy!

I found the frame of a 1980s Steel Blue Fuji S12-S Mixte 18-speed in the barn of a guy who builds bikes and sells them for cheap, and am having him put it together into a bike with what he has on hand. The frame has the original bars, (now-dying) leather seat, brakes, derailleurs and reflectors, but not much else. I don’t think I’m likely to get the sweet FUJI stamped crank arms, but maybe down the road?

The original model came with a black seat and bar tape, but my wife has convinced me that it would look pretty great with (faux) leather saddle and bar tape, which we have ordered. The “Manganese Brown” non-mixte version came with gum rubber hoods on the brakes, and that seems like a good opportunity to add some comfort to the build in the form of some matching brown brake hood covers, but leads to some questions:

a) the original brakes are Dia Compe 610 center pull (mounted nearly horizontally on the back!) and adding covers means removing the safety levers, which I’m ambivalent about since my first 10-speed had them, and

b) they just have a plain metal hood, but the way the builder tapes bars leads to them getting some tape on the hoods, so maybe this is unnecessary? But mostly…