Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Is it normal for non-competitive races to begin early?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-23, 05:03 PM
histgeomaterial
Steel is Real

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hi all, first time posting here. I've recently gotten into doing some (non-competitive) road racing. Today I was supposed to do a race, but the race began early, volunteers didn't know the routes to help direct, and the route they created was only available to navigate with a subscription-based app. Honestly I was pretty frustrated with the entire situation, and let the race organizers know. But since I'm still new to this, I'm second guessing my reaction a bit. Is it a normal thing for races to begin 5-10 minutes early? Has anyone else ever had this experience?

Thank you for your thoughts

Last edited by histgeomaterial; 09-30-23 at 05:08 PM.
Old 09-30-23, 05:33 PM
Iride01 
I'm good to go!

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Quoted: 6196 Post(s)
Liked 4,810 Times in 3,318 Posts
I had some start late. Maybe some that started a minute or two early. But never 5 - 10 minutes early. However it takes 10 minutes for everyone to get across the start line on the larger rides I've done. So you should have been able to ride with them. Times aren't important on a ride that is not a race.