Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Non-plastic water bottles

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-09, 12:31 PM
andre nickatina
not actually Nickatina

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

How many of you guys use water bottles besides plastic? I'm sure some of you have heard of the dangers of bisphenol-A leeching in plastic and Nalgenes. What brands do you use, what material (stainless, alu., et al.), and are you happy with it?
Old 07-14-09, 12:56 PM
trigger

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've got three SIGG bottles in different shapes and sizes that I've been using regularly for a few years now. They get funky dents when you drop them, but they're all still going strong. They are easy to clean, don't hold odours, and leave water tasting good. I use them for wine as well for picnics etc. and just a simple rinse and the wine taste / smell is gone. They are not steel (aluminum) but the coating inside the bottles are still in good shape. I've also used Klean Kanteen, which produce steel bottles. The model I had was wide mouthed and hard to drink from, and the bottle started to rust on the inside after just a few months.

I use the SIGG bottles around the house, while on the trainer, while out and about, when traveling and at school.