Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Just got a new bike today.... and it's supposed to rain for my commute tomorrow :(

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Just got a new bike today.... and it's supposed to rain for my commute tomorrow :(

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-13, 10:18 PM
whosmatt

Bikes: Windsor Clockwork, Nashbar Steel Cyclocross

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Not that a little rain is something to complain much about, but I live in San Diego, so we're spoiled.

So I've been riding a Bianchi Bergamo for about 6 years now, off and on, but for the last 2 years or so I've been making part of my commute on my bike regularly. I stripped it down, removing the rack and fenders and added a flat bar and the narrowest tires that I could get on the rims, but I've been wanting a road bike for a while and told myself that after I finished building a boat (which I did, thanks) I'd treat myself to a proper road bike, something steel (the aluminum hurts me) and "classic" looking, for lack of a better way to put it. I had eyes on a Surly Pacer, but the more I thought about it, and analyzed how I ride, I thought a single speed might be a better fit for me. My commute is short, the bike part of it anyway. Most of it involves a train. I ride about 4 miles from the train station to work. There is a bus that I can take, but the bike ride along the same route is roughly the same time as the bus, and I found a slightly longer route with more hills and less traffic to get the blood flowing a little more.